Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Stupid Again...

  1. #1

    Angry Stupid Again...

    As winter goes on and our roof is covered in snow and I needed a roof rake to pull down the snow and quickly. So as CTC was close I went in to buy their Avalanche Telescopic Roof Rake Product #59-1579-0 @$45.....

    I used it for about a 1/2 hour raking off the snow when the end came off and is now lodged up on the roof in the snow.

    I have to climb up on a ladder to retrieve it. 1/2 hour of use and it's broken.

    More proof of the JUNK they sell.

    I have to get it, and again bolt it together this time in multiple places to compensate for the poor construction of this pathetic rake.

    When will I learn..?????

  2. #2

    Re: Stupid Again...

    And in addition... I attempted to leave a review of this rake on their web site and it's obvious they are trying to stop negative reviews as it's so difficult to leave a review with all the questions and "I'm sorry we found a problem" that it's damn near impossible.

  3. #3

    Re: Stupid Again...

    And I have now heard back from my product review and CTC tells me it will not be posted. Negative reviews are not allowed. They won't allow the posting of the truth in anything negative about their products. So there ya go... only say good things as they don't want to know the truth.

  4. #4

    Re: Stupid Again...

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikie-again View Post
    And I have now heard back from my product review and CTC tells me it will not be posted. Negative reviews are not allowed. They won't allow the posting of the truth in anything negative about their products. So there ya go... only say good things as they don't want to know the truth.
    Hi, Mikie:

    Can you post the exact wording they used?

    I suspect they don't care one way or another about the truth - they just want to convince consumer to buy their cheap crap, so deleting negative reviews is a means to that end.

    But it's consumers who want to know they truth. Unfortunately, if Crappy Tire is deleting only negative reviews, then that is deliberately deceiving consumers - something CT should be ashamed of, and something that consumers should not take lightly.

    I'm not surprised to hear they are deleting negative reviews, though. They do it all the time on their facebook page, too. They even admitted it, and called it "maintenance". So, your negative review wasn't really deleted - they'd say it was 'maintained' .... right off the web site, LOL!
    Last edited by CT Challenger; February 20th, 2015 at 06:48 PM.

  5. #5

    Re: Stupid Again...

    Wow! Check it OUT!

    That snow brush sounds AWESOME! A full, five-star rating!

    Avalanche Telescopic Roof Rake | Canadian Tire

    Sadly, only two people have even BOTHERED to rate it: one in October, and the other way back in Dec. 2013.

    Hmm ... weren't those posted around the time that Crappy Tire offered a chance at a gift card, to anyone who posted a review of a product?

    And how many people do you think got prizes after posting a NEGATIVE review?

    Oh, wait - we know the answer: zero, because clearly negative reviews are "maintained", LOL!

  6. #6

    Re: Stupid Again...

    It was a form which simply said my review contained language that violates their review policy... then directs me to read the policy..

    Here's what I wrote:

    Heading for the review: "Don't bother"

    I purchased this item because of the current reviews showing how good this item is, but after following the assembly instructions and using the rake for approx. 1/2 hour the head came off and is now stuck in the snow up on the roof. The clip holding the rake head on failed. It would be better to have a bolt and nut rather than a clip.

    I then gave it one star.

    I swear this is all I said.... as you can see my review is full of offensive language that ensures the review gets rejected.

    I'll bet it never sees the light of day no matter how I change it.

    Quote Originally Posted by CT Challenger View Post
    Hi, Mikie:

    Can you post the exact wording they used?

    I suspect they don't care one way or another about the truth - they just want to convince consumer to buy their cheap crap, so deleting negative reviews is a means to that end.

    But it's consumers who want to know they truth. Unfortunately, if Crappy Tire is deleting only negative reviews, then that is deliberately deceiving consumers - something CT should be ashamed of, and something that consumers should not take lightly.

    I'm not surprised to hear they are deleting negative reviews, though. They do it all the time on their facebook page, too. They even admitted it, and called it "maintenance". So, your negative review wasn't really deleted - they'd say it was 'maintained' .... right off the web site, LOL!

  7. #7

    Re: Stupid Again...

    I also wrote to garant.com the maker of the roof rake suggesting replacing the clip with a bolt and nut and they responded thanking me for the input and said they'd refer it their design group. Fair enough.. too bad CTC can't take a similar tact.



    Quote Originally Posted by CT Challenger View Post
    Wow! Check it OUT!

    That snow brush sounds AWESOME! A full, five-star rating!

    Avalanche Telescopic Roof Rake | Canadian Tire

    Sadly, only two people have even BOTHERED to rate it: one in October, and the other way back in Dec. 2013.

    Hmm ... weren't those posted around the time that Crappy Tire offered a chance at a gift card, to anyone who posted a review of a product?

    And how many people do you think got prizes after posting a NEGATIVE review?

    Oh, wait - we know the answer: zero, because clearly negative reviews are "maintained", LOL!
    Last edited by Mikie-again; February 20th, 2015 at 08:27 PM.

  8. #8

    Re: Stupid Again...

    Here it is.. I found it...


    ************************************************** ***
    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review/question/answer to CanadianTire.ca. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your content as it did not meet our Terms & Conditions and/or Review Guidelines that are posted online. Further details are available below:

    Unfortunately the content of your review/question/answer contained inappropriate or unusable content that violated our Review Guidelines.
    Please re-submit your content so that it adheres to our Review Guidelines. Thank you for visiting CanadianTire.ca!



    Your feedback is important to us. By contributing, you help us ensure that we provide the best possible products and shopping experience to Canadian Tire customers.


    *************************************






    Quote Originally Posted by Mikie-again View Post
    It was a form which simply said my review contained language that violates their review policy... then directs me to read the policy..

    Here's what I wrote:

    Heading for the review: "Don't bother"

    I purchased this item because of the current reviews showing how good this item is, but after following the assembly instructions and using the rake for approx. 1/2 hour the head came off and is now stuck in the snow up on the roof. The clip holding the rake head on failed. It would be better to have a bolt and nut rather than a clip.

    I then gave it one star.

    I swear this is all I said.... as you can see my review is full of offensive language that ensures the review gets rejected.

    I'll bet it never sees the light of day no matter how I change it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Stupid Again...

    It took only a second to find the Guidelines at Review Guidelines :

    Hilarious, that they rejected yours:



    Canadian Tire values your ratings and reviews!
    When writing your review, please consider the following guidelines:

    Focus on the product and your individual experience using it
    Provide details about why you liked or disliked the product
    All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Use
    We reserve the right not to post your review if it contains any of the following types of content or violates our Terms of Use or Review Guidelines:

    Obscenities, discriminatory language, or other language not suitable for a public forum
    Critical or spiteful comments on other reviews or their authors
    Advertisements, "spam" content, or references to other products, offers, or websites
    Full names, email addresses, URLs, phone numbers, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    Pricing or promotional information referring to products or services sold at Canadian Tire or other retailers that may change and result in a review becoming outdated or inaccurate.
    Content that contains information or instructions about modifying a product (i.e., making modifications to a product to use it for another purpose, or making modifications to a product to counteract a perceived flaw).
    If you wish to share feedback with us about a customer service issue you've had in store, please do not submit this feedback through a product review. Instead, contact Customer Service directly.
    If you have a safety concern about a product purchased from Canadian Tire, do not submit this to us through a product review. Please contact our Customer Service Representatives by calling 1-800-387-8803. They are available to assist you Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. (EST) and Saturday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST). Please know that any product concern you have reported to us will be investigated as part of our standard business process.
    Have something else to say? Contact Customer Service. Your comment will be sent privately to our staff.

    Enjoy writing your review!

  10. #10
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Stupid Again...

    And, for completeness, from CUSTOMER RATINGS & REVIEWS AND QUESTION & ANSWER TERMS OF USE ("Terms of Use")


    CUSTOMER RATINGS & REVIEWS AND QUESTION & ANSWER TERMS OF USE ("Terms of Use")
    These Terms of Use govern your conduct associated with the Customer Ratings & Review (the "CRR") and the Question & Answer (the "Q&A") forums offered by Canadian Tire as a free service to users who agree to abide by the following terms and conditions. To the extent of any conflict between Canadian Tire's Privacy Policy and these Terms of Use, these Terms of Use shall prevail with respect to the CRR or Q&A forums. For the terms of use of the Canadian Tire website generally, please refer to Website Terms and Conditions.

    1. Representation & Warranties
    By submitting any content to Canadian Tire, you represent and warrant that:

    you are the sole author and owner of the intellectual property rights thereto;
    all "moral rights" that you may have in such content have been voluntarily waived by you;
    all content that you post is accurate;
    you are at least 13 years old; and that
    public use of the content you supply on these forums does not violate these Terms of Use and will not cause injury to any person or entity.
    You further agree and warrant that you shall not submit any content:

    that is known by you to be false, inaccurate or misleading;
    that infringes any third party's copyright, patent, trademark, trade secret or other proprietary rights or rights of publicity or privacy;
    that violates any law, statute, ordinance or regulation (including, but not limited to, those governing export control, consumer protection, unfair competition, anti-discrimination or false advertising);
    that is, or may reasonably be considered to be, inaccurate, abusive, vulgar, indecent, defamatory, libelous, hateful, racially or religiously biased or offensive, threatening or harassing to any individual, partnership or corporation;
    for which you were compensated or granted any consideration by any third party;
    that includes any information that references other websites, addresses, email addresses, contact information or phone numbers or any material that has been copied from another individual or entity; or
    that contains any computer viruses, worms or other potentially damaging computer programs or files.
    2. Intellectual Property
    Any content that you submit to Canadian Tire, either directly or through its third party service providers, you acknowledge and agree that Canadian Tire shall own all right, title and interest in and to such content, including all modifications, improvements, upgrades, derivative works, and feedback related thereto and all intellectual property rights therein. To the extent applicable, you agree to assign to Canadian Tire a perpetual, irrevocable, royalty-free, and transferable right and license to use, copy, modify, delete in its entirety, adapt, publish, translate, and/or create derivative works from, sell, distribute, and/or incorporate such content into any form, medium or technology throughout the world without compensation to you.

    3. Indemnity & Liability
    You agree to indemnify and hold Canadian Tire (and its officers, directors, agents, subsidiaries, joint ventures, employees, representatives, and third-party service providers, including but not limited to Bazaarvoice, Inc.), harmless from all claims, demands, and damages (actual and consequential) of any kind and nature, known and unknown, including reasonable legal fees, arising out of a breach of your representations and warranties set forth above, or your violation of any law or the rights of any third party. In no event will Canadian Tire be liable to any party for any direct, indirect, special or other consequential damages for any use of the CRR and Q&A forums, including forum participants following tips and/or advice posted on these forums.

    Information on these forums may contain inaccuracies or typographical errors. Canadian Tire is not responsible for any postings on the CRR and Q&A forums nor does Canadian Tire guarantee the accuracy, reliability or completeness of any information provided in these forums. Forum participants are solely responsible for their use of the forums. While Canadian Tire will make reasonable efforts to monitor the CRR and Q&A forums, it cannot effectively monitor all material posted and, therefore, makes no representation or warranty with respect thereto and assumes no liability for incorrect product information, mistakes, misinformation, falsehoods, profanity, obscenity, or other inappropriate material posted by any forum participant. Information on the CRR and Q&A forums is provided “AS-IS” without warranty of any kind, either express or implied.

    4. General
    The CRR and Q&A forums are a public forum. Messages, questions, tips, advice and answers posted here can be viewed by the public and reflect solely the opinions of the forum participants, including without limitation, Canadian Tire product suppliers, and in no way reflect the opinion of or are endorsed by Canadian Tire. You therefore acknowledge that you, not Canadian Tire, are responsible for the contents of your submission. None of the content that you submit shall be subject to any obligation of confidence on the part of Canadian Tire, its agents, subsidiaries, affiliates, partners or third party service providers and their respective directors, officers and employees.

    Ratings and reviews and questions and answers are generally posted within two to four business days. Canadian Tire reserves the right, at its sole discretion and without notice, to modify, condense or delete any content on the CRR and Q&A forums that Canadian Tire deems, at its sole discretion, to violate the content guidelines or any other provision of these Terms of Use. Canadian Tire does not guarantee that you will have any recourse through Canadian Tire to edit or delete any content you have submitted.

    By submitting your email address in connection with your rating and review and/or question and answer, you agree that Canadian Tire and its third party service providers may use your e-mail address to contact you about the status of your rating and review, question and answer, and for other administrative purposes.

    By use of the CRR and Q&A forums, forum participants hereby expressly acknowledge and agree to the foregoing terms and conditions.

    Close this window

Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Similar Threads

  1. Stupid Management
    By saskpride in forum Employees Speak Out
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 27th, 2013, 09:16 PM
  2. Stupid return policy to hide employee theft?
    By Guest-0276 in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 321
    Last Post: July 16th, 2013, 06:00 AM
  3. STUPID TERMS used on this site!!!!!!!
    By Guest-0562 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: October 24th, 2011, 01:52 PM
  4. stupid b**ch hit my son......
    By dizzy in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 4th, 2010, 03:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions