Page 65 of 88 First ... 1555636465666775 ... Last
Results 641 to 650 of 877

Thread: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

  1. #641

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    let me sum up my 'understanding' of this in the hope that someone from ct will challenge my thinking process.
    firstly when you buy something from one of their stores an 'implied warranty' is created(your receipt).
    one of the conditions of this implied warranty is that the goods must be durable and last for a reasonable amount of time.
    if the product is faulty it breaks the condition of the implied warranty.
    therefore you are perfectly within your rights under the sale of goods act to cancel that contract and not only demand a full refund(not in crappy tire credits),but also any additional expenses arising from the faulty product.
    and so when you buy something,and you get it home and the fukkin thing doesnt work,and you return it to ct and they say sorry not our problem you have to get it fixed,then they are in breach of the sale of goods act,and therefore acting in an ILLEGAL manner.
    at least thats my understanding .if im wrong,please reply any of you ct managers or spotty kids out there.....

  2. #642

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    in fact,because the no return repair only policy quite clearly goes against the sale of goods act as i explained already,isnt canadian tire actually DEFRAUDING a considerable number of customers?i refer to the simoniz pressure washer scandal as well as numerous complaints.by telling customers that are attempting to return a faulty product that they will not exchange and/or refund,they are clearly honouring their own policies which are to my mind in flagrant breach of the sale of goods act,i.e. FRAUD....answer that one spotty kid

  3. #643
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    In the Consumer Protection Act, I believe it's called a "misrepresentation" - they are representing the item as performing certain functions, which it cannot. Therefore, the consumer is allowed to "cancel" the transaction.

    If you look back through this thread, you'll see that the Crappy People never did launch a coherent counter-argument. Instead, they tried a lot of indirect arguments, diversionary tactics, etc.

    Note that the Sale of Goods Acts and the Consumer Protection Acts vary among the provinces, but that BC site you quoted before is pretty clear.
    Last edited by CTH8R; June 26th, 2013 at 12:50 PM.

  4. #644
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    I mean, who would have guessed, that the Canadian Bar Association would know more about Canadian laws, than a pimply teen in the Garden Center?

    ---

    Buying Defective Goods

    What should you do if you discover the goods you’ve bought are defective?
    You should immediately return the goods to the seller. Request an exchange for replacement goods. If a replacement product isn’t available, ask for a refund. If the product isn’t suitable for its use, then you’ll only want a refund. Also, don’t continue to use the defective goods until you return them or after demanding a refund or exchange. If you continue to use the defective product, you could and probably will lose the right to return it.

    What if trying to return the goods doesn’t work?
    Then tell the seller in writing that you’re rejecting the goods. Act quickly. If after writing and attempting to return the goods, you’re still met with resistance in obtaining either a replacement or refund, insist on leaving the defective goods with the seller, and get a dated receipt indicating this. Then make your complaint to the store’s customer complaint department, and if you still don’t get any satisfaction, complain to the president of the company and tell the company in writing that you intend to sue.

  5. #645

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    I mean, who would have guessed, that the Canadian Bar Association would know more about Canadian laws, than a pimply teen in the Garden Center?
    i know who could have possibly guessed?(chortle)

  6. #646

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    and i hear you when youre saying about misrepresentation.im not talking about that.im talking about when you try to return a non working product to the store for a refund,and they refuse and tell you it has to go for repair.THAT is the possible fraudulent behaviour(probably in all innocence of the law),it it still unlawful for a customer services representative to act in that manner.hell none of them even know what the sale of goods act actually says,including store managers,and they think that they are in the right......

  7. #647

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    but ignorance of the law is no excuse apparently.....

  8. #648

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    So.....we are the only place where items are repaired under warranty?
    According to the annual debate we have, your position is that it's "illegal warranty"

    Oh we have to play this game again. But i'll be happy to. Again, I will happily reference John Deere for exhibit A
    http://www.deere.ca/en_CA/docs/warra...antyCanada.pdf
    Warranty for John Deere Canada
    GENERAL PROVISIONS - The warranty described below is provided by John Deere Canada ULC, 295 Hunter Road, P.O. Box 1000, Grimsby, Ontario, L3M 4H5 (“John Deere”) to the original purchaser of new Turf & Utility Equipment (“Equipment”) purchased from John Deere or authorized John Deere dealers. Under this warranty, John Deere will, repair or replace, at its option, any part covered under this warranty which is found to be defective in material or workmanship during the applicable warranty term. Warranty service must be performed by a dealer or sales service centre authorized by John Deere to sell and/or service the Equipment (the “authorized dealer”). The authorized dealer will use only new or remanufactured parts or components furnished or approved by John Deere. Warranty service will be performed without charge to the purchaser for parts and/or labour.

    hahaha that's the first paragraph. NOte the words. Repair or replace at its option any part covered under warranty which is found to be defective. REPAIR OR REPLACE. Damn that's illegal? hahahhaa Strike 1

    Now here's a different approach. We know how you adore Home Depot. So here's the customer review section for the first lawn mower that came up in the search. A Toro 22" gas mower. Fairly comparable to most on the market. You might notice the first few reviews, which state, had it in for repair ..... wait isn't that illegal?

    Exhibit B

    Toro | Personal Pace Blade Stop 22 Inch Self-Propelled Gas Mower | Home Depot Canada
    DON'T BUY!!
    By Geewillikers
    fromLondon, ON
    "If I could give this produce a negative 100 rating I would. Definitely the worst lawn I've ever owned. Had it less than a year, had it in for repairs twice. Just got it back tonight for the second time, did one lap of the front yard and couldn't restart the mower as the cord wouldn't pull. If I could take it in my back yard and blow it up I would."

    By curler46
    fromMiddle Sackville NS


    "I purchased this mower a year and a half ago. I bought it for the personal pace feature, which by the way works very well. It is the hardest starting mower I ever owned. I had in for service in the first summer I had it. They replaced the spark plug. It worked better for a while but now I have to pull my guts out to get it started. I find that it could use a little more power. It clogs up and stalls in thick grass.
    I love the personal pace feature."

    That's two of the first three reviews. Didn't think I needed to go any further.


    Now how could it be that your beloved Home Depot is sending customers gas powered equipment out to be repaired under warranty?
    Say it aint so....say it aint so!!!

    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhahahahhahahahahhaha

  9. #649
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Dear Lord, here we go again with the trolling BS, trying to fool customers into thinking that other stores suck as much as Crappy Tire does, and the laws don't exist. Hilarious!

    And yet, dear Consumers, we still have this, from the CBA, regarding the laws in BC.

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    I mean, who would have guessed, that the Canadian Bar Association would know more about Canadian laws, than a pimply teen in the Garden Center?

    ---

    Buying Defective Goods

    What should you do if you discover the goods you’ve bought are defective?
    You should immediately return the goods to the seller. Request an exchange for replacement goods. If a replacement product isn’t available, ask for a refund. If the product isn’t suitable for its use, then you’ll only want a refund. Also, don’t continue to use the defective goods until you return them or after demanding a refund or exchange. If you continue to use the defective product, you could and probably will lose the right to return it.

    What if trying to return the goods doesn’t work?
    Then tell the seller in writing that you’re rejecting the goods. Act quickly. If after writing and attempting to return the goods, you’re still met with resistance in obtaining either a replacement or refund, insist on leaving the defective goods with the seller, and get a dated receipt indicating this. Then make your complaint to the store’s customer complaint department, and if you still don’t get any satisfaction, complain to the president of the company and tell the company in writing that you intend to sue.
    Yup, that's one awsome web site! Kinda puts a big, gaping hole right through Moaner 1's attempt to deceive Canadians, LOL!

    And don't forget the stack of similar web sites already listed many times on this thread.

    Yes, there are similar laws in each province. You heard right: laws. And what do we call it when something is against the law: "against the law, is illegal". LMAO!

    There are so many, deep flaws is this example of pure trolling deception.

    But let's look at only one more gaping error: the false claim that other retailers DON'T have RETURN POLICIES that let customer RETURN defective things for a REFUND.

    Instead, once again, the Crappy People are waving the WARRANTY flag, which is provided by the MANUFACTURER.

    Oh, and if you are interested in John Deere, fellow Canadians, be sure to google the John Deere 30 Day Promise!

    LMFAO!

    Do a little research, fellow Canadians.

    Because an informed consumer, is Canadian Tire's worst enemy!

  10. #650

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    It's amazing, the lengths that CT-Me/Law-Guy/Moaner will go to in an effort disprove things that nobody has said.

    And, to sully the good name of Home Depot, who have very generous return policies for outdoor power equipment.

    Gee, these guys had a hard time returning things to HD after more than a year? Horrors!

    But at Crappy Tire? They would have been refused a return of a similar product after 1 minute!

Page 65 of 88 First ... 1555636465666775 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. CTC CEO Stephen Wetmore: "Canadian Tire Sucks"
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 21st, 2011, 10:42 PM
  2. "Do you work here??"
    By CT_MANAGER in forum Employees Speak Out
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2011, 12:19 AM
  3. I'm one of those "Bad" Canadian Tire Employees
    By Tango Anglo in forum Employees Speak Out
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2011, 08:32 PM
  4. CBC's "Go Public" reports on Canadian Tire.
    By Jadelakes in forum New to this site?
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: December 21st, 2010, 12:08 PM
  5. Can't return "Powerbuilt 42-in. Professional Creeper"
    By unhappyctccustomer in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 28th, 2010, 03:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions