Page 1 of 88 1231151 ... Last
Results 1 to 10 of 876

Thread: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

  1. #1
    Active Member DavidLeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    211
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    8

    "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    A Canadian Tire policy that seems to cause a large number of complaints is their “Repair Only Warranty”.

    The name doesn’t sound so bad. It seems like it’s only telling you something about the manufacturer’s warranty.

    After all, how could a “Repair Only Warranty” doesn't sound a whole lot worse than a ‘full replacement warranty’. And don’t many manufacturers provide ‘repair-only’ warranties?

    How come people are so upset, if such warranties are fairly standard?

    The problem is with CT’s special rules for refunds and exchanges for "Repair Only” products.

    If you are diligent, and read the CT web site http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/Navig..._Exchanges.jsp and also the big sign at Customer Service, it sounds like you have 90 days to “return an item for exchange or refund”.

    The web site and the big sign don’t even mention “Repair Only” at all.

    If you decide the item doesn’t really fit your needs, or you just want a different model, guess how long you have to get a refund, if it’s a “Repair Only Warranty”?

    90 days? Nope.

    14 days? 7 days? 1 day? 1 minute?

    Nope, you have zero time to change your mind. Once you’ve paid for it, you own it. End of story.

    How about a product that doesn’t even work, and therefore you want to exchange it for one that does work? Can you at least “return an item for exchange” like the web site and signs say?

    Nope. There are no exchanges, either. Too bad if the box you selected has a defective item inside it. It’s your problem now.

    It works like a ‘No Refunds, No Exchanges' item (i.e., like a ‘final sale’ or ‘as-is’ item). It just happens to also have a warranty, and the warranty only covers repairs (i.e., not exchange).

    What looks like a simple statement about the warranty hides some nasty policies about refunds and exchanges.

    Why don't they come right out and make these as "No Refund, No Exchange", instead of distracting you with the warranty? I suppose because fewer people would buy them if they knew.

    From what I’ve heard, the ‘No Refund, No Exchange, Repair Only Warranty’ seems to be applied mainly to gasoline-powered equipment, but some electric equipment seems to be included, too.

    What can you do if you’ve fallen into the “Repair Only” trap, and you are stuck with a defective product that you dont' want?

    You may choose to settle for the terms of the manufacturer's warranty, and arrange a repair. Then maybe sell it on Kijiji or at a yard sale.

    However, Ontario retailers are required by law to provide a refund for a defective item, if the customer asks for one, regardless of any store policy or manufacturer’s warranty.

    This applies even to products with the "Repair Only” (i.e., "No Refund, No Exchange, Repair Only”) Warranty” policy.

    I strongly suggest making a call to the Ministry of Consumer Protection at 1-800-889-9768. They can quote the appropriate sections of the applicable laws, help you apply those laws to get a refund, and assist you in filing a complaint.

    You can also find their web site here:

    "Ministry of Consumer Services - Consumer Protection, Consumer Education, Consumer Information"

    My related post on the Sale of Goods Act and on the Consumer Protection Act may be of assistance. It is located here:

    "EVOLVE TREADMILL,TEMPO -Canadian Tire ,3516 8th ave NE Calgary - CAN'T BE RETURNED!!!!!!!"

    ---

    It is interesting to contrast CT with major retailers, who generally will provide a refund during a fixed period of time, if you change your mind or it is not working.

    If they don’t provide a refund, most retailers will at least provide an exchange for an item that is not working.

    This is true of basically everything they sell, except for certain items that most stores will not refund or exchange (such as cut material or custom orders).

    -----

    An interesting side-topic is whether Canadian Tire is the only major Canadian retailer to use a ‘No Refund/No Exchange/Repair Only Warranty’ policy on any products.

    I have reviewed a number of web sites and visited some stores, and have found no other major Ontario retailers who have such a policy. In fact, I generally have to explain to them what a “Repair Only” item is, and that it is no-refund/no-exchange.

    Therefore, I would say that Crappy Tire is the only major retailer to use such a policy.

    Taking this a step further, I have found no other stores in Canada who have used such a policy prior to its introduction by CT. On that basis, I would say that Crappy Tire has "invented" the "Repair Only" policy, as well as being unique in using it. Please correct me if you know the actual inventor.


    Another side note is legalities. If a law requires someone to perform a specific act (such as providing a refund), it is illegal for them to refuse to do so. Any policy that requires, or even allows, a person to behave in an illegal manner can be deemed an illegal policy.

    -----

    I hope that this post is of assistance to consumers who are seeking to obtain a refund (or even just an exchange) for a defective item, or want to learn more of the pitfalls of shopping at Crappy Tire.

  2. #2
    Posted by an unregistered user CT Me / Lawguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    494
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    dear broken record

    why don't you answer the very specific questions before you? instead you babble on about what is right and what is wrong and who did what first (without proof of who started repair warranties first)

    i am also still waiting on the document or specific section in any act law or legislation that says customer may choose the remedy.

    incidentally I did a little homework yesterday. i called a local canadian tire, said that i'd purchased a....wait for it....simoniz electric pressure washer and needed the warranty details faxed to my office. they did so right away. here's the very first line in the document further proof that your claim of zero help, zero return as soon as you pay is what i like to call......wrong.

    Warranted against defects in workmanship and materials as follows when accompanied by proof of purchase.
    - 30-day over-the-counter replacement warranty
    - 2-year repair warranty
    - 90-day warranty on included accessories

    now, nowhere in the law, legislation, act etc... does it say this is illegal. the cpa, sga etc... would only apply if canadian tire refused to honour these terms.

    i might also point out that in post 110 of our favourite evolve treadmill thread, you posted the following statement.

    “Regardless of a store's policy, if the goods you have purchased were misrepresented or are defective, you have every reason to expect the store to provide a suitable substitute or refund, or make proper repairs. The laws in Ontario require a store to make good in such cases.”

    and i quote.....or make proper repairs. make proper repairs. make proper repairs. wait a second, is the BBB suggesting retailers do something illegal?

    make proper repairs. make proper repairs. make proper repairs

  3. #3
    Posted by an unregistered user CT Me / Lawguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    494
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    one more thing
    your claim is that the "repair policy seems to create a lot of complaints".

    please tell me, now that you've added statistical analysis to your degree in law.... how many complaints does canadian tire get regarding this policy? facts and figures please, anecdotal evidence need not apply

  4. #4

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    didn't this refund thing get all settled already over in the treadmill section?

    you an that law fella keep ignoring the first 7 or 8 site that all say refund and get your money back and so on. seems legit to me.

    instead your harpin on the one that you like better.

    don't see how that makes the others 6 or 7 go away.

    if i'm going to buy something i want it to work right off the bat, and keep workin to boot.

    not have to ship it off to be fixed first. maybe i got a driveway fulla snow or a lawn thats overgrown in the summer.

    especily if its a long drive into town.

    the davidler fella sure does seem to have his nads in a knot over this.

    but the repair only deal?

    I can smells it all the way across the field.

  5. #5

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Quote Originally Posted by lawguy View Post
    one more thing
    your claim is that the "repair policy seems to create a lot of complaints".

    please tell me, now that you've added statistical analysis to your degree in law.... how many complaints does canadian tire get regarding this policy? facts and figures please, anecdotal evidence need not apply
    Plenty of complaints right on this site. Lots on complaintsboard.com too. Also smartcanucks.ca and redflagdeals.com.

    Don't need a statistical analysis to know CT sucks.

  6. #6
    Posted by an unregistered user Angry CT Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    933
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    Plenty of complaints right on this site. Lots on complaintsboard.com too. Also smartcanucks.ca and redflagdeals.com.

    Don't need a statistical analysis to know CT sucks.
    yep, lots of sites with complaints about Walmart, Home Depot, Costco, Sears, Zellers, and almost every retailer in Canada and the U.S. too...including the sites you listed. What does it prove? That 100% customer satisfaction is unattainable in the retail sector....did you not know this? It matters not what any store's policies are, there are those that won't like them.....the answer is simple, don't shop there. But as I said....find me one retailer out there that has ZERO customer complaints. If you're not a fan of capitalism, feel free to move to Libya.....you know, with their excellent return policies and all.....hahaha.

  7. #7
    Posted by an unregistered user Angry CT Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    933
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    If you decide the item doesn’t really fit your needs, or you just want a different model, guess how long you have to get a refund, if it’s a “Repair Only Warranty”?

    90 days? Nope.

    14 days? 7 days? 1 day? 1 minute?

    Nope, you have zero time to change your mind. Once you’ve paid for it, you own it. End of story.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Mr. DavidLer, in all your pontificating, you fail to mention that there is legal protection for both buyers and SELLERS. I think that you don't believe that sellers should be protected, Am I incorrect in my assessment?
    You seem to intimate that a customer should be able to change their minds if something "doesn't meet their needs" or if they decide that "they just want another model". How would this protect the seller from someone that thought they could try a product out or borrow it for the weekend or finish a one time job and realize they don't need the product any more? I guess they could just claim it to be defective, and under your rationale, would be entitled to a refund. But guess what, stores caught on and policies were put in place to prevent this type of fraud. I'm not sure if you were aware of this, but people lie. I believe that a lot of people on this site lie or only tell part of the truth.
    If you buy something and you decide you don't want it, then you should sell it on your own.
    "change your mind"......Please grow up.

  8. #8

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    sounds like a pretty rotten deal for the customer.

    ct knows these units are crap but agrees to stock em in the store anyhow.

    knowin theyll get a lotta complaints they make a deal so's they can say no refunds no exchanges.

    but they dont bother putting nothing like that on their web site.

    customers in the store lookin at the mowers an washers an whatnot. dont see no signs exceptin maybe Repair Only Warranty. maybe no signs atall. theys thinking the 90 day rule still applies. no reason to think otherwise.

    i suppose at the checkout maybe theres somethin onna back a the receipt but nobody says nothin.

    then course the darn thing likely dont work worth a darn when they getter home cause they's such junk to begin with as ct obviously knew when the put it onna shelf.

    so the poor customer takes her back, maybe drivin in a long ways back in from outta town.

    thats when they get the news that their brand spankin new machine in junk and ct aint gonna stand behind it attal cause of the side deal they done may with them that made it.

    then people like this lawguy and unregistered fella make it sound like the customers at fault and just tryin to cheat ct whos oh so innocent. sound like a lotta horse droppins to these old ears.

  9. #9
    Posted by an unregistered user Angry CT Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    933
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Handyguy, that's not what's being said at all....doesn't appear you are comprehending the conversation and not making a whole lot of sense either.

  10. #10
    Posted by an unregistered user Guest-0427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange

    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    You seem to intimate that a customer should be able to change their minds if something "doesn't meet their needs" or if they decide that "they just want another model".
    nobody has said there is a law that mandates this. if ct doesn't like their own policy then they are free to change it.

    How would this protect the seller from someone that thought they could try a product out or borrow it for the weekend or finish a one time job and realize they don't need the product any more? I guess they could just claim it to be defective, and under your rationale, would be entitled to a refund.
    nobody has said that customers should be allowed to defaud stores. that's still no excuse for the store to try defrauding innocent customers.

    But guess what, stores caught on and policies were put in place to prevent this type of fraud. I'm not sure if you were aware of this, but people lie. I believe that a lot of people on this site lie or only tell part of the truth.
    we only have to read the bs written by CT ME, LawGuy and Unregistered to see that people who try to defend ct lie here all the time.

    If you buy something and you decide you don't want it, then you should sell it on your own.
    "change your mind"......Please grow up.
    see above. if ct doesn't like their own policies, then they should change them. period. the stores and you need to grow up and stop whining about customers.

    speaking of customers, you ct defenders sure don't seem to like them much, even though you depend on them for your very survival. no wonder you implement policies designed to cheat them.

Page 1 of 88 1231151 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. CTC CEO Stephen Wetmore: "Canadian Tire Sucks"
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 21st, 2011, 10:42 PM
  2. "Do you work here??"
    By CT_MANAGER in forum Employees Speak Out
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2011, 12:19 AM
  3. I'm one of those "Bad" Canadian Tire Employees
    By Tango Anglo in forum Employees Speak Out
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2011, 08:32 PM
  4. CBC's "Go Public" reports on Canadian Tire.
    By Jadelakes in forum New to this site?
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: December 21st, 2010, 11:08 AM
  5. Can't return "Powerbuilt 42-in. Professional Creeper"
    By unhappyctccustomer in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 28th, 2010, 03:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions