Page 13 of 30 First ... 3111213141523 ... Last
Results 121 to 130 of 295

Thread: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

  1. #121
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    A story from March at Canadian Tire Battery Scam. None of it is surprising, to anyone who has read the many similar horror stories on this thread:

    ---

    I bought a new top quality car battery from Canadian Tire for my Ford Explorer.It came with a "Best in the business" warrantee that was for about 5 years.

    Turns out the the warrantee is only good for 2 years and after that they prorate the thing. So the battery cost about $135 before taxes. It crapped out and wouldn't hold a charge for more than 2 days. Thankfully this happened just before the 2 year 'free' period elapsed.

    But I still had to argue with the guy and eventually get the manager involved to get a new battery. They tried to charge me $85, then $65, then they just wanted me to go away so they gave it to me. They claimed that the battery was still on the edge of being good. I was outraged but also thankful at the same time!.
    Right away I started having problems".

    The Ford kept dying after a week or so of being parked'. So, knowing the problem could no longer be the battery, I took it to an Auto-electric place/. They tried and tried to find a problem but the only thing they could come up with was that it was the battery/. "Not so," I said".

    "It's brand new"?. So eventually they took it out and just let it sit on the bench unconnected/. Within a week it was completely dead. I was on holidays while all this was going on so 2 months passed since I picked up the "new" battery.

    I then went to the Auto-Electric place and took my battery back to Canadian Tire for a replacement, thinking there should be no problem. Well! They tested my battery and pronounced it completely useless. I presented them with my warranty and they brought me a battery, along with a bill for $65.

    They said I was now past the 'Free Replacement' period. I said if I had been given a battery that was actually good 2 months ago I wouldn't be here now so they should backdate the claim to that date and give me the battery free of charge. They said they had no control over policy, that being controlled by Toronto headquarters. I thought they were all independently owned.

    Anyway, I gave up trying to get them to see the logic in my claim and walked out. I'll get a Delco battery from the Auto-Electric place instead.
    I give up on Canadian Tire.

    They treated me like *** and I'm not going back.People call it Crappy Tire for a reason I guess.

  2. #122
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    From https://www.canadiantiresucks.net/ca...html#post8668:

    ---

    Went to this store last week on 17th May 2013, at around 12.35 pm to get my battery tested and if needed replaced. The only person on the desk told me that I had to wait for another test to be completed before I could start my 1.5 hours testing/diagnosis. Waited an hour and then finally my testing started and I gave my cell number to be called when they had finished the test and had printout of the diagnosis. After 2 hours had elapsed and still not receiving a call from Cdn Tire, I reached there to be told that battery needed new replacement, and with my original receipt it was still under pro rated warranty discount when new battery bought from them.

    But I still had to wait as per Jason (some what polite guy) to wait for another 20 minutes as the ONLY person who could calculate the warranty discount, Ms. Carol was out on lunch and returning in 20 odd minutes. I waited almost an hor waiting for her and reported this to the Manager Mr Mike (somewhat rude, insensitive manager - who had no clue what was required of him or of the store). He went out on a search for Carol with me and finally we saw her returning back from lunch after 1.20 hours or so.

    Now this lady was not apologetic about extended lunch around and took almost 45 minutes to advise me that I need to pay $ 105 for $ 120 battery and you can pick up the battery right away.

    Anyway when they checked the new battery to be sold to me, it needed new charge as it was never charged as they were supposed to have done in Apr'13 as per sticker on the battery. Finally when I advised them to return my paperwork so that I could walk into another cndn tire store and pick up a fully charged battery I was told by Carol that the diagnostic test printout was misplaced by her, and that I would have to start the whole process of retesting the battery if I chose to walk into another cndn tire store.

    And without any apology I was asked to wait for another 1.30 hours for this to get recharged. Finally I paid out at 5.25 pm and was given the battery by 5.35 pm. CALLED MIKE again to be told this is how they do business and if I do not stop complaining or cribbing about their service, he will get us escorted/thrown out of the store.

    Called corporate to report the insensitive attitude and abnormal customer service experience in last 20 odd years in this country and was told they would call Kevin the owner of the Cndn Tire store and he will call me to address the issues.

    Finally got a call on 22nd May 13, and was told by him that he has another side of the story and this is the way we have and will be doing business. If you have to wait and have been given such service, it was because of busy day at the location. And when I told him that it was not busy at all as most of the staff there was just sitting idle and even the automotive hoists were less than half on job.

    Kevin was not apologetic nor did he say sorry and his tone was very off as if he had already presumed that I would be lying and was cooking up stories. This kind of attitude I have only seen in Oriental stores where the prices are so cheap and they do not care if they get repeat business or not. Not sure 100% but Kevin's tone and accent was somewhat oriental too and had the same icy, rude and suggesting that I was a liar and just cooking up stories.

  3. #123
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Terry B.: I bought a new battery in The St Laurent Branch, And the next morning it was dead, I went to the service Manager who would not speak english and told me in french I killed the battery ???, He is rude and has walked away from english customewrs leaving them standing there, Oh yes $28.00 to fix a flat on a wheel I took in

  4. #124
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Sherry B.: Just had a horrendous ordeal with Canadian tire Red Deer South, after the first battery dies they charge me to put the second one in when it is warrantied, then the second one dies and kills my cluster and radio, and I spend four hours waiting with no service while they leave my vehicle running so is does not die again. I end up having to take it elsewhere, for service who only find the battery as an issue and since it was completely dead after only 8 months this time they have to put a battery in so I can take it home and tell me to take it to the dealership to figure out why the dead battery made the instrument panel and radio stop costing me further. I take the battery I got from Canadian tire to the store I got it from and they will not give me a refund or a credit only another crappy battery which I explained the ordeal. They were rude and told me to tell anyone I wanted about this they did not care that is their policy. I was a loyal customer as was my mom but no more, completely unimpressed with their lack of integrity and unwillingness to make things right. This cost me well over $500.

    Sherry B.: e-mailed you as you requested and your reply was unsatisfactory with no compensation at all!!

  5. #125
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Phil G.: Well they couldn't get mea battery ....said they would the next day.Came back ...no battery ...forgot the whole incident...I was forced to go else where.

  6. #126

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Seems the poor service is actually HELPING people. When they leave in frustration, they actually are 'dodging bullets' buy passing over Crappy Tire, and buying from somewhere with better products and policies.
    Last edited by CT Challenger; May 31st, 2013 at 07:12 PM.

  7. #127
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    People don't buy automotive batteries very often, so they have a long memory when they die early. Not surprising that when CT spams people to post a review, they get some negative feed-back:


    Rob U.: Bought 2 batteries for my truck 6 months ago and they are already junk.... Nt even made it thought the winter.. Well over 300 spent are you sure you want a review

  8. #128
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Usually the batteries conk out in the cold of winter, but not for this poor guy:


    Michael T.: I tried to return a battery for warranty and was told I needed the paperwork from three years ago . that was in my motorhome a hundred miles away in the bush and was told sorry its company policy . Then they gave me a story about how they would not get reimbursement from the manufacturer without "my" paperwork . Please don't insult me by telling me to email or call someone at customer service as I was there with the battery last week ... and im sure the people at customerservice@canadiantire.com. are just better excuse makers ....

  9. #129
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Chris R.: Canadian Tire ripped me off charging my wife 99.00 to diagnose a dead battery only one year old even though the battery came with a nine year warranty. Manager was insulting and ignorant of my complaint...and no one at Canadian Tire cares. Never shop there again. Never!

  10. #130

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    i just remembered a funny thing that happened to me.back before i had all the trouble with ct,i was in the process of buying a new set of golf cart batteries(6 in total) for my solar system.i think it was back last september.so i went into canadian tire.i wont say which store or what the employees name was,but he was extremely knowledgeable about the whole thing,and then went on to let me know that i would be better off buying the batteries from one of the main battery shops in the area,because if anything was wrong with them i would have a hard time returning them to ct.hell if even your own employees are recommending you go somewhere else,you really are in trouble......

Page 13 of 30 First ... 3111213141523 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 876
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 12:40 PM
  2. When a Warranty Isn?t a Warranty
    By Guest-0012 in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: June 30th, 2016, 12:23 AM
  3. Products With "No Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange, No Repair (As-Is)
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: September 10th, 2012, 10:01 PM
  4. Tempo 620 - Warranty Line does not answer
    By Guest-0249 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 11th, 2010, 11:20 AM
  5. Anybody familiar with the tire warranty?
    By Guest-0214 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 01:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions