Page 16 of 30 First ... 6141516171826 ... Last
Results 151 to 160 of 295

Thread: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

  1. #151
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Peter V.: never never buy a battery at CT Costco stand behind their product all over the world even without a sales slip try and return something at CT no bill forget it were Costco will look that up in the computer and honer it.

  2. #152

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    Peter V.: never never buy a battery at CT Costco stand behind their product all over the world even without a sales slip try and return something at CT no bill forget it were Costco will look that up in the computer and honer it.
    agreed.i have costco card and if theres ever a choice that place is the FIRST one.never a problem with customer service.FUCK U CT

  3. #153
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    A timely warning as the days get cooler.

    What the poster doesn't know yet, is that the battery would likely fail shortly, and any tow charges, list wages, etc would not be covered. Plus the warranty would not cover an expensive test of the vehicle's charging system, then an expensive test of the failed battery, then an over-priced install of a replacement. Plus the warranty is likely 'pro-rated', so it might not cover 100% of the price ofthe crappy replacement. Oh, and the warranty on the replacement would be reduced by the amount of time the old battery was still working.So, if he had decided to buy this battery, he might well end up paying the same amount again in a year or so for a battery with a 'warranty'!

    I gather he doesn't know how lucky he was, to have dodged that bullet!



    Anshu A.: U guys gotta start hiring smarter people. I called to ask how much to install a car battery. I was told, come on in, don't need an appointment and will cost $149 including install. When I got there, I was told there is an hour wait and cost is $199. WTF...why a different story on the ph and then a different price in the store

  4. #154
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Another guy who dodged the bullet - out-smarted it, actually.


    Rick R.: I am disappointed in this policy which unfairly penalizes battery purchasers. But as with any complaint, I will put my money where my mouth is. Call CAA. They come to my car. They put it in. They take the old one. All for about the same price CT charges, and I don't have to make two trips, or fight over quircky policies!
    Last edited by CTH8R; October 30th, 2013 at 05:53 AM.

  5. #155
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    Even when the battery works fine (at least initially) you can still get shafted:



    Rick R.: Time for Rick's Rants.... Well its been a while since I had something really worthy to complain about, but today was my "lucky" day. This morning I purchased a battery at Canadian Tire. Nothing really out of the ordinary. A sign above the battery department says, "Price after casting returned". Upon check out, the company automatically adds a $15 casting deposit, and automatically charges me HST. So far, everything going as planned. I take the battery install it in my truck. Works as advertised, I turn my key and the engine stats. Perfect!

    .... Later that evening .....

    I return to Canadian Tire to get my deposit back. "No problem. Here you go sir. $15 returned to my credit card". I pause for a second and ask, "What about the HST I paid on the $15?" to which the staff make great efforts to convince me that's the way it's done. I said, but that's illegal. You can't charge me HST on nothing. You charged me HST on the casting deposit, I brought the casting back and now I would like my FULL deposit back including HST taxes. After great debate with customer service and a junior auto department manager, who I'll call Jr., I got nowhere. I should say though, Jr. was so frustrated with his company's policy, and the chain of complaints it generated, he offered to refund my HST taxes out of his own pocket. Kudo's to junior for trying to satisfy his customer. Poo Poo on CT for a very bad broadly implemented and infuriating customer policy.

    I felt like I was in an episode from Seinfeld, "You know how to take the deposit, you just don't know how to refund the deposit!". Next time I will just call CAA. Same price and no fuss.
    Hmmm... a theory on why its OK for CT to demand that you give them HST on an item you buy, and why its later OK for them to keep the HST when you return the item. Applies to batteries only, it seems:


    Jessica S.: The core charge is implemented by the GST/HST Rulings with the Canada Revenue Agency. When you bring your core (used part) in at the time of your purchase, no core charge is applied. When bringing in your used part at another time this transaction is considered as “selling” back your item to the store. As an individual consumer you are unable to apply taxes to items you are selling unless you are a GST/HST registrant. If there are any questions as to this process or Canadian Tire following the rules, the GST/HST Ruling Technical Inquiry phone line would be happy to answer your concerns (1-800-959-8287).

  6. #156
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    And ... Rick responded to the bogus justification for this scam:


    Rick R.: I'm sorry. I have to disagree with your premise for a badly constructed policy. The store posts a sign clearly stating the price is the effective price with the core returned. This means HST is not charged on the core. If I had brought a dead battery with me, I would not be taxed on the core. So I am being charged a fictitious tax penalty because I bring my dead battery back when I can drive my car to the store. The net result is not the same if I bring my core with me versus bringing it later. The core charge is a deposit. Not a sale. Besides I am a business. The battery was sold to my business and the store people did not ask me whether I collect and remit HST which I do. So that is a second policy failure. This battery policy has more holes than Swiss cheese!

  7. #157
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Rick says it reminds him of a Seinfeld piece.

    But it reminds me of the greedy Eco Fee scam, from a few years ago - collect excessive fees, blame the government, then keep the money as pure profit - nice RePeat, CT!

  8. #158
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    A general warning:


    Alex S.: Whatever you do don't ever buy a Canadian Tire car battery. I got three "heavy duty" batteries from them, all died within a year. Go Sears Die- hard or Delco, but never again will I be caught with a Canadian tire car battery.

  9. #159
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Jason H.:
    I have a complaint about your store in Kelsey Drive, St. John's, Newfoundland. I came in on 11/23/13 to bring in a used battery to receive a recycling deposit. Now, the battery was bought at the Grand Falls location (5 hours away) and because of a storm, I couldn't bring the battery back to that location and figured I'd bring it in to this particular store.

    They wouldn't help me at the auto section and sent me to the customer service counter where I waited for 20 minutes because they had 3 checkouts with 1 girl for "customer service". When I finally got to the front, she told me to go to the auto dept. and then I told her I was already there. The misinformed employee told me she'd get the manager... which never happened. I was pretty much ignored until after another 20 minutes when I decided to find the guy myself. When I explained him the situation he went somewhere and then came back all ignorant telling me, "You'd better go back to Grand Falls then".

    Any ways, I won't be returning to that location any more. I'm not sure if this is what you consider a great way to treat a customer or what.

  10. #160
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    As the cold weather continues to take hold, here is a timely warning from Crappy Tire's own Facebook page:


    Kathy C.: I am so tired of this Battery and it is new with warranty and keeps going dead. so I went to Canadian Tire in Bridgewater (CookVille ) and they say there is nothing wrong with the battery. The service manager kicked us out of the store because we wanted them to Honor the warranty. so we called customer service in regards to this and after they contacted the owner and the owner asked us to take our van into be tested the service department still says that it isn't the battery However offered us a new battery minus the warranty, I paid for a warranty when i bought the CERTIFIED Battery. my van has a new alternator and alternator belt and all lights are set to stay off when doors are opened so my Question is if its not the battery why are they offering me a new battery minus warranty and what would make them think I would give up the warranty that is on the battery anyway....So done with Canadian Tire So much for you slogan we stand behind what we sell

Page 16 of 30 First ... 6141516171826 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 876
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 12:40 PM
  2. When a Warranty Isn?t a Warranty
    By Guest-0012 in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: June 30th, 2016, 12:23 AM
  3. Products With "No Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange, No Repair (As-Is)
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: September 10th, 2012, 10:01 PM
  4. Tempo 620 - Warranty Line does not answer
    By Guest-0249 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 11th, 2010, 11:20 AM
  5. Anybody familiar with the tire warranty?
    By Guest-0214 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 01:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions