Page 29 of 30 First ... 1927282930 Last
Results 281 to 290 of 295

Thread: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

  1. #281
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Comments saying what stupid tests these were - brought to you at great expense by Crappy Tire!


    Joel H.: Of course it would start right away. Breaking the case won't discharge the battery. Break it and let it sit dry for a day or two and see what happens...

    Julien V.: Lol if you truck fall 30ft, it wont matter anyways

    Rick V.: Must be battery in truck or why did they need booster cables. That part where they started the truck is fake. Not sure if the battery would actually work like that but as for no liquid. The new eliminator line is AGM.
    AGM (absorbed glass mat) is a special design glass mat designed to wick the battery electrolyte between the battery plates. AGM batteries contain only enough liquid to keep the mat wet with the electrolyte and if the battery is broken no free liquid is available to leak out.

    Jamie T.: So stupid.

    Jemar C.: Stupid

    Steve A.: How many times did they have to do that before they got that take?

    Darryl M.: Good to know my battery will start if i drop it from 27 ft lol

    Graham N.: Try dropping the truck but it won't matter who's batt will be in it!

    Robbie B.: So if I drive my truck off a 27' cliff I can start it right back up and drive away? ...... It's about time.

    Jian L.: How about you drop the truck with the battery in it. See if that will start.

    Luc P.: You need a better approach than this, Canadian Tire... I hope you didn't wasted much money for this advertisement.

    Louis R.G.: Pointless...no one is ever in a situation where they drop a battery 27 feet. Bet that's not covered in the limited warranty ...idiotic proves nothing

    Lance M.: If you know anything about batteries,this means nothing. They most likley droped a few before they got one to work. . Means nothing.

    Ben B.: I gotta say, that was the dumbest, most irrelevant test I've seen. Thanks for its comedic value tho!! Hahaha

    Colin R.: Where did the chemicals go? Dry? Why the fk would i put that back into my vehicle after a 27 ft drop? Am i launching my vehicle into the air?



    And so on, and so forth.

    But the thing is: do you want people that are dumb & devious working on your vehicle, or even trying to sell you something that's crap? That's the real message.

    Thank You, Red Triangle of Crap People, for funding this great source of complaints against Crappy Tire!

    "LOL Hilarious"!
    Last edited by CTH8R; January 29th, 2015 at 08:46 PM.

  2. #282
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    It seems if you keep buying batteries from these guys, eventually this is going to happen:


    Denise M.: I bought a small eliminator for our 4 wheeler in November. It has given us nothing but problems. We brought it back yesterday and they gave us a hard time . Said they would charge it. The guy called us this morning and said its better than new. Now come on. All I want is my money back and they wont give it to us. My husband has tried charging it 3 times and it keeps going dead. It has been kept in a warm garage. We have bought all of our batteries from you in the past.

  3. #283
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Hendrik T.: their word is worth nothing , replaced a battery once but 4 months later the battery FAILS again and when I take it back the guy behind the counter wave me on and says " can't do a thing for you " and begins to serve another customer as if what I had was not worth his time. I have been using the same store for over 30 years but I think I will stop using it all together SO disappointed with not only the product but the service Warranty ?? Ain't worth the paper it was put on.

  4. #284
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Jayne F.: In regard to batteries. I can't find where I can leave a mesage about a Motomaster ELIMINATOR 2M Series Spotlight/Lantern. It worked only FOUR times and died! How do I charge it? I'm on a pension and can't afford to keep buying new ones! I've been trying to find the info, but there hasn't been any.

  5. #285
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Maureen H.H.: I stopped being a customer after installing a Cnd tire brand battery in my vehicle that fried my electrical system. Had it inspected by an expert who said the battery was faulty and overloaded the alternator. Burned through 3 before they discoveed the problem. Went to Cnd Tire and the person at Cnd tire put a volt meter on the battery and said it was fine. Even that told me they are idiots. Head office guy was just as stupid saying it was impossivle, despite my expert "testimony" from an automotive electrical expert and the general mechanic who was doing the work who consulted the electrical guy. They denied any responsibility and left me 1000 in the hole between repairs and rental. NEVER BUY A BATTERY FROM CANADIAN TIRE. They are hacks no matter if they have good people working for them or not the company does NOT stand by their products or collateral damage. They are Jacks of all trades and masters of none!!!

  6. #286
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Steve C.: I take no stock in your battery series of ads . The truck you are starting is sitting in beautiful starting conditions . Make those tests on an engine that is sitting at operating conditions , or minus 30 degrees . Then I could stand behind your organization

  7. #287
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Jennifer B.: The same thing happened to me with a car battery...we even had the proof of purchase from Canadian tire, but they would not honour it. I think it is something they do often.

  8. #288
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    John V.: WARNING - NEVER, EVER buy a car battery at Canadian Tire.
    You won't believe this story! I got a new battery from them in June of last year (9 months ago) after the last one crapped out early (3.5 years into the 5 year warranty). I had to pay a pro-rated replacement (3.5/5) for the battery. Fair enough. Now the new one craps out 15% of the way through its alleged life span. Guess what they tell me? "Oh no, your warranty dates from the original purchase. So you are now almost at 5 years, so you might as well just buy a new one." After NINE FREAKIN months?!?! I was incredulous. "That is REALLY your policy??? That's completely unreasonable, not to mention un-fair".
    They said, "Sorry. Would you like a new battery?".
    "Um, NO! And I won't be shopping in your store anymore either". I walked out. Nobody cared. I guess they have never heard of social media.

    And I used to work for the company. Sad to see how crappy it has gotten.

  9. #289
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Just re-read old posts.

    Never did get a definition from the Crappy People, of what makes a battery warranty "best".

    Maybe it's the one with the most stickers, stamps, cards and receipts. Certainly would make it the easiest warranty to deny.

    And, never did get any of that "readily available" proof that there isn't any other retailer in all of Canada that offers a 10-year warranty on any of the batteries they sell.

    Still, the consumer complaints against Crappy Batteries just keep piling up...

    Hilarious!
    Last edited by CTH8R; April 2nd, 2015 at 05:37 AM.

  10. #290
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.


Page 29 of 30 First ... 1927282930 Last

Similar Threads

  1. "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 876
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 12:40 PM
  2. When a Warranty Isn?t a Warranty
    By Guest-0012 in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: June 30th, 2016, 12:23 AM
  3. Products With "No Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange, No Repair (As-Is)
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: September 10th, 2012, 10:01 PM
  4. Tempo 620 - Warranty Line does not answer
    By Guest-0249 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 11th, 2010, 11:20 AM
  5. Anybody familiar with the tire warranty?
    By Guest-0214 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 01:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions