Page 30 of 30 First ... 20282930
Results 291 to 295 of 295

Thread: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

  1. #291
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    John V.: WARNING - NEVER, EVER buy a car battery at Canadian Tire.
    You won't believe this story! I got a new battery from them in June of last year (9 months ago) after the last one crapped out early (3.5 years into the 5 year warranty). I had to pay a pro-rated replacement (3.5/5) for the battery. Fair enough. Now the new one craps out 15% of the way through its alleged life span. Guess what they tell me? "Oh no, your warranty dates from the original purchase. So you are now almost at 5 years, so you might as well just buy a new one." After NINE FREAKIN months?!?! I was incredulous. "That is REALLY your policy??? That's completely unreasonable, not to mention un-fair".
    They said, "Sorry. Would you like a new battery?".
    "Um, NO! And I won't be shopping in your store anymore either". I walked out. Nobody cared. I guess they have never heard of social media.

    And I used to work for the company. Sad to see how crappy it has gotten.

    John V. Since there is no way to complain, this page ends up being a gripe session about all the problems - mostly with auto service. My 685 friends on facebook also saw this post - with a nice pic of the logo and a battery with a 'no-smoking' style X through it. Reputational damage, over a ridiculous unfair policy. Earlier today, I spend over $100 at a Canadian Tire store. Wal Mart next time. Canadian Tire really needs to fix the auto service part. It affects the rest of the business.

    John V. Naw. I have already called CAA for a new battery to replace the 9 month old one that your dealer says is now out of warranty. Sending an email will make no difference.

    John V. My own timeline is now burning up with horror stories about Canadian Tire auto service. Maybe what YOU should do, is contact the dealer and find out why they are ruining your corporate reputation.

    John V. The dealer is the one at Trafalgar Road and Dundas in Oakville. If you can call them before CAA gets here, you may rescue $1000's in business for your store.

    John V. I WILL however email your address to show them the results of crappy customer service. With screen grabs etc.

    John V. I just wont email them when my battery is dead on my car. I kind of need to start it.

    John V I realize that you are just some person who works for CTC or a social media moderating company and there is nothing you can do. Nor, do I expect any results from the email to the company. So - it's not your fault. But WOW - I can't believe how little the auto service people care about the reputation of your company!!!!! That's just crazy!

    John V No response.

    John V I doubt that I will get one. Probably will be re-iterating the battery policy. Not that it matters.

  2. #292
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Daniel G.: ... last month my car wouldn't start and was stuck at Canadian tire parking lot. I went inside and spent $150 on a new battery but then I asked the guy that sold me the battery if I can borrow a wrench or something to take out my old one and he told me straight out "NO" I needed to buy one. After spending 45 min outside in -35 degree weather I finally found somebody who had one. Was shocked that they wouldn't help me out.

  3. #293
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Jennifer B.: The same thing happened to me with a car battery...we even had the proof of purchase from Canadian tire, but they would not honour it. I think it is something they do often.

  4. #294
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Olga M.:

    Horrible horrible service today at Canadian tire Pincourt. My husband had to argue with a guy to sell him same car battery as he had before. But the guy kept saying it's ok ... Worn polarity? You can turn it around. Oh? Too big? It will fit.... What the heck? The battery my husband needed was same price and nothing special. He ended up buying the one guys pushed on him and now is back at the store exchanging it for what he asked for in a first place!!!

  5. #295
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: Buying Batteries From Canadian Tire - Warranty Issues, Etc.

    Barry G.:

    Worst service in the auto parts department in Penticton, BC today, I bought a car with a battery from Canadian tire and had the paper work for warranty an is under warranty till April next year, I called an asked if the paper wasn't in my name would there be a problem an was told no. So I go there to get a new one an the sells rep said they can't do it due to it not being in my name even though the girl on the phone said its no problem. So I had to take my dead battery back out to my car an put it in an have a different auto shop come jump my battery in YOUR parking lot as your store would not do it. I'll be sure never to buy anything from there again.

Page 30 of 30 First ... 20282930

Similar Threads

  1. "Repair Only Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 876
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 12:40 PM
  2. When a Warranty Isn?t a Warranty
    By Guest-0012 in forum Personal Stories
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: June 30th, 2016, 01:23 AM
  3. Products With "No Warranty" - No Refund, No Exchange, No Repair (As-Is)
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: September 10th, 2012, 11:01 PM
  4. Tempo 620 - Warranty Line does not answer
    By Guest-0249 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 11th, 2010, 12:20 PM
  5. Anybody familiar with the tire warranty?
    By Guest-0214 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2010, 02:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions