Page 54 of 86 First ... 444525354555664 ... Last
Results 531 to 540 of 853

Thread: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

  1. #531
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Interesting perspective from a mechanic - home come none ever go on CT's FB page to say how great CT is at treating customers???


    Steven J.s.: Laura, I would suggest not getting your car serviced at Canadian Tire. I am an Aircraft Mechanic as well as a Auto Mechanic and have had "issues" with the honesty of Canadian Tires service dept. They are competent in auto repair...However I have caught them constantly ripping off my friends and family for repairs not required. One of my favorites was when they replaced a fuel pump and sending unit at a cost of $585 dollars because a $12 relay was defective...I got lots of these stories. Stay away...

  2. #532

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Hey, was this post from Red Flag Deals captured here, from BabakK852?

    Lots of interesting posts, related to poor auto service!


    From canadian tire complaints? - Page 2 - RedFlagDeals.com Forums


    My Toyota Camry 99 got overheated like suddenly which make me tow the car to Canadian Tire, 2510 Hyde Park Gate, Oakville, ON. I explain not to fix the car until you give me the full estimate because I have limited budget, the car doesn't worth more than $1500 and I don’t want to spend more than $500 on it. They told that I need to pay $48.50 for Cooling & Heating Inspection then they will be able to tell me the exact estimate. I agreed & I explain that it gets overheat in two minuets and I am pretty sure something wrong on thermostat or water pump. Because when I tried to turn the heater on inside is flowing cool & it is not getting hot also radiator was not that hot. Also the radiator fan was working properly; there was no sign of the leaking water. The time was 12:15 Aug 20 2013.

    At 2:10 pm I received a call from Canadian Tire was a lady; she told me that I am lucky which the problem is just thermostat. But she recommended me to change the relay on high speed for radiator fan. However she said that is optional but better to do it. I told them are you sure that going to be the problem? Since I am limited on my budget, she said I would give you $30 off cause I had membership cart and confirm the issue is the thermostat. The total of $428+Tax was supposed to be charged to fix the problem and she said they call me as soon as the car is ready to pick up.

    Finally she called me at 6:10 saying that sorry we just realize your water pump is gone and there was a mistake on the diagnosed. Now I have to pay $1300 to fix this problem!!!
    I am pretty sure my thermostat was okay and no one is going to change the high speed relay since there is no circulation of water (that is funny)
    I said okay but I need to talk to the manager regarding the miss diagnose and I would just pay $48.50 because the diagnosis was not completed and please remove the parts which you installed and put mine back to the place. Even Mike who was their mechanic (at the first) was admit that he made a mistake, anyway the ask me to come tomorrow and see Tony who is the general manager. It tokes whole my day to deal with the issue finally take the bus to go home!!!!

    On 2013-08-21 I was there at 9 am, was not easy to take the bus from my place to get there, however they said Tony didn't show up yet, I wait until 2 pm which I realized he is not coming so they asked me to come tomorrow anyway….very tired and so disappointed no choice but go bake to home and wait for another day. I waste my whole two days no car no answer and poor customer service

    Finally today 2013-08-22 I was there at 9 am, but telling me Tony is sick is not coming today come back tomorrow, that was unacceptable, they were trying to making fun of me they don’t care of the customer they treat me like thief, just playing with me. I said no I need to talk to someone responsible; they changed their word saying that we need to have to change the relay to realize the water pump problem; even other mechanic on the place told me you are right but you can not do anything.
    However I said I want to stay here with my car until Mr. Tony shows up it is already three days I waste my time and my car has the same issue as first day and you guys ask me $480 to pay for your mistake.
    They send a big guy with the tattoo was rude treat me that I need to leave the place right away which I said I spend 3 days and I have right to see Tony regarding the issue. So they called the police to kick me out. The two police were nice and polite no complain at all however i am going to take the issue to the court. It is not the money issue which is poor knowledge and they don’t have enough skills as a mechanic.
    Sorry For My Poor English
    Regards
    Bijan

  3. #533

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Bad auto service at Kanata CT. From http://www.complaintsboard.com/compl...-c688067.html:

    efective Candian Tire Batteries and the srervice hoops that you have to jump through.

    I have a summer car. From May to October the battery is in the car and is used weekly. From November through April the car is in storage and the battery is inside the house on a Motomaster maintenance (trickle charger).

    Each Spring I re-install the battery and the cycle continues. This year the batttery failed to start the car. I then boosted the car and the battery was able to hold sufficient charge to re-start the car for the next 2 days. I then charged the Motomoaster battery on my full-size Motomaster charger. After 15 hours it registered as fully-charged. Replaced the battery in the car, it held the charge for 2 days.

    The battery is installed with a cut-out switch. Even with no load, the charge only held for 2 days.

    Trip #1. Battery was tested for 2 hours, no fault found. Battery died after 2 days - Warranty still had 1 month to go
    Trip #2. Battery was tested for 30 minutes, found to have low charge, advised to charge it before using - charged using full-size charger
    Trip #3. Battery was tested for 5 minutes, no charge, advised to charge it - used full-size charger
    Trip #4 Battery was charged for 15 hours, left on the workbench for 2 days - no charge - I was told there must be a ripple voltage problem with my alternator (at this point the battery wasn't installed in the car)
    Trip #5 Reported the 4 previous visits. Was told to use a full-size charger not a trickle charger. I told them I did, they suggested trying the trickle charger
    Trip #6 After using my Motomaster trickle charger, dead battery after 2 days
    Trip #7 I was told that my charger must be defective and that batteries are rarely the problem. I then asked the service guy (a guy who I had not dealt with) to explain whether it was my Motomaster battery that was defective, my Motomaster full-size charger that was defective, or my Motomaster trickle charger that was defective? He said based on my analysis it was likely the battery but that my warranty had expired. I said really? He exchanged the battery and it has performed properly for the last 3 months!!!

  4. #534

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Intersting article from the 7th.

    What I like about it, is they finally admit to all the problems they've had.

    What I don't like is this vague claim that their auto service doesn't suck as much, lately. Any basis for thinking that? Not that's stated in the article!


    Auto unit overhaul helps boost Canadian Tire?s profits | Financial Post


    "The CEO [Witmore], who had cringed visibly in the past over the company’s poor automotive service scores in industry customer satisfaction surveys, said when executives assessed the category a few years ago, “virtually everything was wrong” with it."


    “We weren’t selecting good products and accessories, we didn’t have the right tire selection or the right system to support tires and rims, we didn’t invest in technology in our service centres, the people behind the counters didn’t have the right technology to do business with and we had the wrong selection and reorder system for parts, both heavy and light. All pieces of the business were treading water at best, and needed a lot of investment.”


    There are other admissions as well, of poor past performance in:

    - Not selling online
    - Needing technology upgrades
    - Poor automotive department layout
    - Poor quality in merchandise
    - Poor training of staff in auto parts and service.

    Quite a laundry list!

  5. #535

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Quote Originally Posted by CT Challenger View Post
    Intersting article from the 7th.

    What I like about it, is they finally admit to all the problems they've had.

    What I don't like is this vague claim that their auto service doesn't suck as much, lately. Any basis for thinking that? Not that's stated in the article!


    Auto unit overhaul helps boost Canadian Tire?s profits | Financial Post


    "The CEO [Witmore], who had cringed visibly in the past over the company’s poor automotive service scores in industry customer satisfaction surveys, said when executives assessed the category a few years ago, “virtually everything was wrong” with it."


    “We weren’t selecting good products and accessories, we didn’t have the right tire selection or the right system to support tires and rims, we didn’t invest in technology in our service centres, the people behind the counters didn’t have the right technology to do business with and we had the wrong selection and reorder system for parts, both heavy and light. All pieces of the business were treading water at best, and needed a lot of investment.”


    There are other admissions as well, of poor past performance in:

    - Not selling online
    - Needing technology upgrades
    - Poor automotive department layout
    - Poor quality in merchandise
    - Poor training of staff in auto parts and service.

    Quite a laundry list!

    Good CEO's do the right thing to build companies. Whetmore is well respected in the financial world, from what I've read.

  6. #536

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    I like the fact that he's finally coming clean about how much his company sucks. Maybe honesty will become a trend in the whole company? It might even trickle down to The Moaner and Sangria - wouldn't THAT be something!

    But, we'll just have to wait and see, like with these auto changes maybe kicking in some day ...
    Last edited by CT Challenger; November 25th, 2013 at 12:23 AM.

  7. #537
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    It's not like their bad service is a big secret or anything - just check out the reviews in their own Facebook page, each time they Spam Canadians about auto service ... and sometimes when they Spam us on blenders!

  8. #538
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    Speaking of CEOs, does anyone know if there will be another Pre-Christmas mass-firing of executives again this year?

    Was that a one-off, or will this be an annual money-saving event?

  9. #539
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    File under "incompetent":


    Kristian L.: I had horrible service at Canadian Tire. We went in to get it fixed, and as I was driving it off the lot I discovered that there were no breaks! It was lucky hI wasn't going fast as I could have been seriously injured and or killed! Canadian Tire, of course, said that they had nothing to do with it! Everything in the car was just serviced and certified. They were extremely rude and unprofessional. Now we are without a vehicle. needless to say I will not EVER be going back to ANY Canadian Tire. The service we received was horrendous, and not ONE person even bothered to apologize. There could have been fatalities, I am seriously not impressed. I hope anyone who reads this decides to take their car to a competent mechanic instead of having it wrecked by the idiots at Canadian Tire

  10. #540
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Auto Repairs - Unnecessary, over-priced, incompetent, incorrect and incomplete!

    This guy? He doesn't know how lucky he is, to have dodged that bullet:


    Geraldine T.: I phoned Sylan Lake Canadian Tire today to see how much it would cost to install a starter remote in a truck so I ask for the service department and I let the phone rang about 70 times and no one asked so I hang up phoned again and ask forthe service department and it rang 50 more times finally someone answered then they told me that they don't install remotes that they sell. I was going to buy one this weekend since they were going to be a good price but so long good bye. I phoned Rocky CT and they answered right away but they don't install them either.What is with CT?
    Last edited by CTH8R; November 28th, 2013 at 08:34 AM.

Page 54 of 86 First ... 444525354555664 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. Repairs At Canadian Tire?
    By Alviw in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 17th, 2014, 07:53 PM
  2. canadian tire smythe fredericton sucks
    By Guest-0070 in forum New Brunswick
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: February 15th, 2012, 04:40 PM
  3. Auto Center - Ill never go to any Canadian tire again
    By Mississauga in forum Canadian Tire 5970 Mavis Rd, Mississauga, ON
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: August 12th, 2011, 11:26 PM
  4. Unauthorized Auto Services Performed at Waterdown Canadian Tire Store
    By TakenByCT in forum Canadian Tire 11 Clappison Av, Waterdown, ON
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: November 7th, 2010, 09:20 AM
  5. TIP: Re: Car Repairs (CT, or any shop in general)
    By CT_MANAGER in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 27th, 2010, 01:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions