Page 15 of 116 First ... 513141516172565115 ... Last
Results 141 to 150 of 1159

Thread: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

  1. #141

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    As we close in on the 200th report of a Canadian who has pledged to "never buy from Canadian Tire again", we should consider the implications of the number of such pledges.

    For instance, this thread is being populated by just 1 or 2 people, and only for a couple of months. So, the relatively small number "200" shouldn't be taken as an indication of the total number of Canadians who have taken this pledge.

    It is well-known in retailing, and in other failure analysis circles, that the number of reports drops off rapidly as one moves up the escalation chain.

    This means that, for each person whose pledge has been reported on this site, there are easily 10 times as many Canadians out there who have made the same pledge elsewhere on the internet, but are not recorded here. So, there are likely to be at least 2,000 Canadians who have posted their pledge to boycott Canadian Tire somewhere on the internet.

    But lots of people don't use the internet, yet still would have taken the same pledge, but announced it through other means, such as a written letter to Canadian Tire, or even just telling their friends. There are likely about 10 times as many such people, which would mean roughly 20,000 Canadians who have written about or spoken about their pledge.

    And let's not forget that we Canadians tend to be a polite group, who are more likely to keep our upset and alienation to ourselves. It would be well within the norm for a Canadian who is treated badly by an identifiable brand, to simply 'suck it up', and privately vow to never darken that retailer's door again, without making a public announcement. Typical numbers are between 10 and 25 'silent complaints' for each verbalized complaint. So, it is not unreasonable to assume that roughly 200,000 Canadians have already vowed to 'never buy from Canadian Tire again'.

    And all this is based on the small sample of Canadians who have been identified in the last few months. The actual number keeps rising sharply, which bodes ill for this once-venerated retailer.

    Could there be a million Canadians who boycott all Canadian Tire stores?

    2 million? 3?

    Sure, the Crappy People who post here might try to hide from these numbers, and dismiss this as 'only 200 people who didn't even bother to post on Canadian Tire Sucks Dot Net'.

    But if they were at all interested in "strong customer service", they would surely be taking every single one of these boycott declarations very seriously.

    And they will only hurt themselves and their employees if they continue to bury their collective heads in the sand.
    Last edited by CT Challenger; June 11th, 2013 at 11:44 AM.

  2. #142
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Inching closer to the 1 million mark:


    #200:

    Sarmen S I just wanted to let you know that I, a proud Canadian, have recently celebrated my 4 year ban from Canadian Tire. The customer service was atrocious and I swore that I will never step foot in another store again...thank you.

  3. #143

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Quote Originally Posted by CTH8R View Post
    Inching closer to the 1 million mark:


    #200:

    That's a heck of a milestone you made there. I still served that many customers long before lunch today. and it's Tuesday.
    I wonder how many Canadians rediscovered Canadian Tire today. Ones that hadn't been for years for whatever reason. Or maybe customers that had never shopped a CT, or moved to a new city and tried a new store.

    Probably a few

  4. #144
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #201:



    Drew A.: CDn Tire are bad and would never shop there

  5. #145
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    The CT'er still haven't caught on to the implications of these numbers.

    That's OK - they don't need to heed the warning signs - it's their problem to deal with, or ignore, as they see fit.

    But at some point they'll be all surprised - "Gee, where did all my customers go? There were only a few hundred whose boycott delarations were captured on that one web site. How come a million people are boycotting us?"
    Last edited by CTH8R; June 12th, 2013 at 10:34 AM.

  6. #146
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Do you suppose Jimmy W. will soon "rediscover Canadian Tire"? Maybe "move to a new city and try a new store"?

    Nah, he's one of the ever-growing army of brand-new, once-loyal boycotter for life:


    #202:

    Jimmy W.: i certainly agree with you randy !!! yorkton sask. is another idiot place. i bought a new riding lawn mower there this past friday. paid $1100 cash with taxes plus about $100 of instore items. mower wouldn't start - they said battery was dead. i told them to go and get a new battery off the shelf and send that one back to get a replacement. they wouldn't do it so i got my money back and told them i'm never dealing there again.how stupid can the manager be as to lose a sale of $1200 just over a new lawn mower battery.

    Jimmy W.: all you have to do sir is call yorkton sask. store and ask them for their story.it won't make a difference what they might tell you. i was telling you the truth. i also mentioned to them that i would never buy or even visit any canadian tire store ever again and i meant it. i bought a snow blower from them last year for a $1000.00 and had no problem with it - however, i was very disappointed to drive 50 miles there and 50 back without a machine. wasted my time and gas which i can hardly afford as i am an old age pensioner. you just lost a customer for life. there are many other stores that sell lawn mowers who would bend over backwards for a customer so as they would be satisfied and have them return and continue to purchase their products. nothing you could say or do will change my mind. -- best to you and your company in the future.

  7. #147

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Quote Originally Posted by CT Challenger View Post
    As we close in on the 200th report of a Canadian who has pledged to "never buy from Canadian Tire again", we should consider the implications of the number of such pledges.

    For instance, this thread is being populated by just 1 or 2 people, and only for a couple of months. So, the relatively small number "200" shouldn't be taken as an indication of the total number of Canadians who have taken this pledge.

    It is well-known in retailing, and in other failure analysis circles, that the number of reports drops off rapidly as one moves up the escalation chain.

    This means that, for each person whose pledge has been reported on this site, there are easily 10 times as many Canadians out there who have made the same pledge elsewhere on the internet, but are not recorded here. So, there are likely to be at least 2,000 Canadians who have posted their pledge to boycott Canadian Tire somewhere on the internet.

    But lots of people don't use the internet, yet still would have taken the same pledge, but announced it through other means, such as a written letter to Canadian Tire, or even just telling their friends. There are likely about 10 times as many such people, which would mean roughly 20,000 Canadians who have written about or spoken about their pledge.

    And let's not forget that we Canadians tend to be a polite group, who are more likely to keep our upset and alienation to ourselves. It would be well within the norm for a Canadian who is treated badly by an identifiable brand, to simply 'suck it up', and privately vow to never darken that retailer's door again, without making a public announcement. Typical numbers are between 10 and 25 'silent complaints' for each verbalized complaint. So, it is not unreasonable to assume that roughly 200,000 Canadians have already vowed to 'never buy from Canadian Tire again'.

    And all this is based on the small sample of Canadians who have been identified in the last few months. The actual number keeps rising sharply, which bodes ill for this once-venerated retailer.

    Could there be a million Canadians who boycott all Canadian Tire stores?

    2 million? 3?

    Sure, the Crappy People who post here might try to hide from these numbers, and dismiss this as 'only 200 people who didn't even bother to post on Canadian Tire Sucks Dot Net'.

    But if they were at all interested in "strong customer service", they would surely be taking every single one of these boycott declarations very seriously.

    And they will only hurt themselves and their employees if they continue to bury their collective heads in the sand.


    Wow, that's definitely the most telling story yet, thanks for enlightening me. Enlightening me with ridiculous humour and statistics that is.
    How is it that your crazy math has turned 200 into 2-3 million?

    Also in regards to math, looking over to your comparison of Walmart Canada's Facebook to Canadian Tire's, well yah, there's no surprise there. Walmart is massive compared to us. Grocery is a giant part of their business and draws huge customer counts daily.

    Keep grasping at straws buddy. The mighty triangle will always be here. Will always turn a profit. Will always have millions of loyal Canadians. Will always generate very wealthy entrepreneurs in each community we serve.

    ALWAYS!!!!

  8. #148
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    What the Moaner really meant to say was, "Blah, blah, blah, I don't really suck, so keep buying stuff from me, even though I won't stand behind anything I sell, and I will rip off people who come to me looking for a real mechanic".


    And now that it's been shown that Walmart Canada is almost 3 times as popular with Canadians than the Crappy 'Canadian' chain? (Based on Likes per day).

    What are we supposed to believe?

    We are supposed to conclude, "Nope, that doesn't matter at all".

    And why?

    Because, "Gee these big bad US companies are just, like, really friggin' huge, eh"?


    Gimme a break!

    Number of CT stores? More than Walmart Canada (around 500 compared to only 370).

    Number of years in businees? More than Walmart Canada (1922 compared to 1994).

    Number of unique products sold? More than Walmart Canada (CT carries about 55,00 SKUs just for auto parts alone. But WMC has only about 100,000 in a typical store).

    Is Canadian patriatism working in their favour? A big "Yes" to CT, but a definate "No" to WMC.


    But, heck. We all know what this is REALLY about, now don't we?

    The Moaner wants to protect his own precious 'brand', by trying to conceal just how much his Crappy store actually sucks.


    Not a chance! It's now very clear that, every day, more and more Canadians are catching on.

    - A barrage of daily compalints on CT's Facebook 'fan' page - faster than they can delete them.

    - Three times as many facebook Likes, despite the 'home-town advantage' and Canadian knee-jerk patriotism.

    - A steady of stream of new Canadians who take the pledge to ...

    Never Shop at Canadian Tire Again!
    Last edited by CTH8R; June 13th, 2013 at 07:14 PM.

  9. #149

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Quote Originally Posted by Owner 1 View Post
    Wow, that's definitely the most telling story yet, thanks for enlightening me.
    You are most welcome!

    Be sure to share your new knowledge with all your fellow owners - it sounds like CTC has been keeping you in the dark about basic Customer Service principles.

  10. #150

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    I had another Boycott Notice on fb but .. it was deleted!

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Complaints on facebook - People Hate Crappy Tire!
    By CTH8R in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2055
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 12:23 PM
  2. What People Want to Achieve Here
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 25th, 2012, 01:00 PM
  3. Crappy Tire Boycott
    By MikeChablis in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2011, 11:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions