Page 16 of 116 First ... 614151617182666 ... Last
Results 151 to 160 of 1159

Thread: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

  1. #151

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    It's been noted that Crappy Tire will have garnered about 900,000 facebook "Like" by the end of the summer, and that the number of recorded 'Boycotters" is only about 200 (as recorded over a couple of months, in this little corner of the internet).

    This could be construed as possibly indicating that Canadians are actually fond of Crappy Tire.

    However, there are a number of factors to consider:

    - CT has been recording Likes for many years, while the Boycotters have only been tracked for a couple of months (so there are sure to have been many boycotters in the past).

    - There are likely to be many, many times this many Boycotters recorded elsewhere on the internet, and even more go unreported.

    - All the "Likes" CT has garnered are recorded at this central web page, but the boycott are scattered among sites, emails, etc.

    - There is no reason that CT would never cancel the "Like" someone gave them, but they have been frequently observed deleting critical post from it’s site, including boycott pledges. So, facebook Likes are overstated but facebook boycott notices are understated.

    - It is extremely easy for someone to simply click on a button without much investment in CT at all; however, it takes time and effort to compose a post/email describing a complaint. So, facebook likes show a long level of commitment, but a boycott notices show high commitment.

    - Consumers are routinely given an incentive to “Like” CT, such as entry into a contest or a coupon of $5-$15. But a consumer who posts a boycott notice often gives up a chance to enter a contents or get a benefit. So, Likes are encouraged, yet boycotts are discouraged.

    - Clicking “Like” isn’t completely anonymous, but it cannot easily be determined which facebook users clicked Like. However, by posting to the facebook page a web site, anonymity is broken (the name appears in the post. Again, Likes are encourages; boycotts are discouraged.

    - CT Spams Canadian Facebook pages in order to prompt users to “Like” them; but there is no organized campaign to prompt Canadians to “boycott” CT.

    - There is no need to (or even opportunity to) state a reason for ‘Liking’ a company; but a pledge to boycott a company is generally accompanied by a detailed list of reasons. Thus less weight should be given to a Like, and more to a boycott notice.

    - There is little passion evidenced in a “Like”, which could be fanatical loyalty, or just a ‘sure, why not?’ action; posts announcing boycotts are typically fervent, passionate and heart-felt.


    In light of the above observations, it should be clear that the Facebook Likes are not only over-stated, but represent a much lower level of commitment and passion on the part of the consumer.

    On the other hand, a impassioned, detailed Boycott Notice, posted with personal effort and possible risk, on this site and others, should be given a great deal of weight indeed.

    Not that the Crappy People will every admit that.

    After all, we've seen how they respond, both on this web site, and on their own facebook page, where they deal with complaints quite easily:

    Ignore or delete? Must be a tough choice ... but certainly easier then actually fixing their clearly-broken stores!

  2. #152
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    OK, time to introduce the Partial Boycott.

    First, people who will only buy cheap and simple products:


    1# (partial boycott - cheap and simple only):

    Steve B.: Canadian Tire sells crap! 3 weeks ago bought some outdoor stuff that came with missing hardware. They won't do anything about that as I have to wait 4 to 6 weeks for parts from the distributor in California. Thats half of the summer! I can't take it back because its a seasonal item and I can only get store credit. What am I going to do with $600 of store credit? Buy some more crap? Lesson learned. Stay away from Canadian Tire unless you're buying toilet paper or nails.

  3. #153
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #203:

    Victoria Pollard I emailed Customer Service a week ago and haven't heard anything

  4. #154
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Partial:

    Stephen H.: My old vehicle, 99 dodge avanger went in for an oil change, they did the oil change but forgot to put the oil cap back on, halfway home my engine caught fire becuz of all the oil on the inside of my hood. NEVER HAVE SERVICE DONE EVER AGAIN! They quoted oh it wasn't us. and took no responsibility for their actions.

  5. #155
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #204:



    Chris R.: Canadian Tire ripped me off charging my wife 99.00 to diagnose a dead battery only one year old even though the battery came with a nine year warranty. Manager was insulting and ignorant of my complaint...and no one at Canadian Tire cares. Never shop there again. Never!

  6. #156
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    A reluctant but decisive #205:


    Jackie S.: Never fails @CanadianTire: whatever store I visit in Vancouver, I get horrible customer service from incredibly RUDE staff! EVERYTIME! Clearly, you do not train your staff well b/c nit only are they rude, they're unknowledgeable re company policies and practices. As a CDN born and raised citizen who grew up with CDN tire, I have witnessed a horrible decline. Goodbye Canadian Tire, I've had it

  7. #157
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #206:


    Joelle S.: I had the worse shopping experience shopping at Canadian tire. I will go out of my way NEVER to shop there again!

    Joelle S.: I did contact customer service department at the head office and got no satisfaction there. A very hallow apology . It's unfortunate that a Canadian company cares so little about customer's concerns.

  8. #158
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #207, on this thread: https://www.canadiantiresucks.net/on...didnt-end.html

    (A little puzzle: try to fill in the blanks: "N___ s___ a_ C_______ T___ a____!")

    ---

    it just didn't end!
    Canadian Tire #087 Mon May 27, 2013 at about 1500 hr: A lady staff named 'Heidia' or 'Haidy' or ‘Hadia’ (herein referred to as ‘Heidia’) came to assist my mom and me in loading our shopping cart with a couple of recliner chairs, the folding type that you can use outdoors on the patio. While removing one of these chairs from the shelf, Heidia offset a couple of boxes underneath that shelf (these were also large boxes of similar chairs). I even warned her by saying 'Be careful'. Nonetheless, she continued pulling out our items. I was standing behind Heidia when the two boxes underneath the ones she was pulling 'popped out' of the shelf and fell towards her and me . The boxes injured my right wrist (and her I’m guessing) as we tried to stop them (out of instinct) from falling further. However, they were too heavy for both of us and so they tumbled down to the floor while I scrambled backwards to avoid any additional injuries.
    I calmly advised her that she needs to be careful in handling merchandise and that an even worse accident could have occurred. She apologized and then after she loaded the chairs boxes (the two we wanted to buy) in our cart, she apologized again and went away. We picked up a few more items we wanted to buy, all while I was trying to understand the incident and how careless the staff are and how weak the store policies are. We proceeded to the checkout counter and asked the cashier if we could speak to the store manager. She heard a bit of our story and then decided to call the store owner. Jason Hayes, Canadian Tire store owner, came to us and we relayed the incident to him. He appeared concerned and apologized more than a few times. He also said more than once, that accidents happen and that he was sorry about it. I told him that the shelves are so carelessly and forcefully stacked that removing one box on one shelf forced another item from another shelf to ‘pop out’ of its place unnecessarily. To this he answered that items are stacked like this in every store he had been to in his entire life! We even asked if there was another counter or customer service place to go to, and that if there was a form that we could fill out to record this incident, but he said there isn’t anything of the sort. He insisted that he is at this store and that as long as he was there, we could come in any time and speak to him about this. I then pressed for some information of a person I could contact or someone who I could speak to so that I could discuss the situation with, and about the store’s safety procedures. Mr. Hayes then gave me a card with the HR contact. We asked him to write his name on the back of the card. We also asked him to write ‘Heidia’s name also. To this he replied, “I don’t know how to spell her name. You already know what it is.” I must also mention that during this conversation his DOG came into the store and he starts petting it. And then he apologizes for the dog interrupting our conversation!! Absolutely no professionalism or customer service morals whatsoever!
    Well we mentioned that I would have my wrist examined by the doctor. When I asked if we would need to take matters further what the procedure would be, Mr. Hayes said that in that case a lawyer would have to be involved. After more apologies, he asked either we take it up with HR or that “we could settle this right now” as he pointed towards our shopping cart. Not knowing what we were supposed to say or do, we said we have HR’s contact number. So we left the store after paying our bill. Mr. Hayes called a staff person (a young guy) to help load my car with our purchased items.
    Upon leaving the store, my mom decided to buy some flower pots that were being sold outside the front entrance of the Canadian Tire store. I joined her after our items were loaded into the car. We selected about 6 plants ($2.49 ea +tax). And just as we were about to reenter the store, I got sprayed from the behind by a young girl staff who was watering the plants with a hose!! She was unaware until I got her attention. And that’s when I lost my nerve. We stormed back into the store and asked to speak to Jason Hayes right away. He came and I explained the situation. Again, he was apologetic. I told him that we were completely upset and we will return everything if nothing was done now. He then said, over and over again, “Please tell me what you’d like me to do”. We were too outraged by that point because we couldn’t believe this was all happening to me, not to mention that my clothes were all wet from behind! Instead of him offering us something he kept insisting that WE TELL HIM WHAT HE SHOULD DO. Absolutely ridiculous! Because he didn’t offer to give us the items even though that’s what I had said first after I got sprayed by the watering girl, we thought it best if at least we got a discount. So he gave us our discount, and gave us the flower plants and a few free cucumber seedlings for free. He personally helped carry our plants back to our car saying, “I want to make sure you don’t go through any more than you already have for today!”
    I want to say that the whole experience was a learning experience of how never to shop at Canadian Tire again!
    Last edited by CTH8R; June 25th, 2013 at 07:23 AM.

  9. #159

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    sorry but i usually agree with most complaints on here,but this latest one smacks of guy who lives with his mother,has no life and just wants to bitch at life because of it.humans are humans after all,we all make mistakes from time to time,and im actually on cts side on this one(makes a change but im a fair person).i mean cmon did he not see the chick watering the flowers?

  10. #160
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Well, that's the beauty of free enterprise.

    People are free to 'vote with their wallets', and if they don't like a particular retailer anymore, then there's nobody who can force them to shop their.

    Personally, that store sounds to me like it's poorly run, in a variety of ways, and nobody seemed to be taking any genuine responsiblity for any of the issues.

    I certainly hope this person's injuries (caused by CT negligence) are only minor.

    (There have been 1 or 2 complaints where I thought the customer was asking too much, but this isn't one of them.)

    Regardless of what you or I might think, CT is down one more life-long customer, and there are more sure to come, too.

Page 16 of 116 First ... 614151617182666 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Complaints on facebook - People Hate Crappy Tire!
    By CTH8R in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2055
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 12:23 PM
  2. What People Want to Achieve Here
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 25th, 2012, 01:00 PM
  3. Crappy Tire Boycott
    By MikeChablis in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2011, 11:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions