Page 78 of 116 First ... 2868767778798088 ... Last
Results 771 to 780 of 1159

Thread: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

  1. #771
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Full.

    #663:

    Elrik M.

    Just called your pacific plaza location in Calgary Alberta and was put on hold for 10 minutes. Hung up and called back and the lady answered again and asked if I would mind being put on hold. I said yes I would mind. She then asked again if she could put me on hold, again I said yes I would mind and she just put me on hold again without saying anything else! Waited another 10 minutes on hold. No answer.
    Needless to say this is unacceptable and I will no longer be shopping at Canadian tire.

  2. #772
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #664:

    Shannon L.:

    I'm very disappointed with this company. If you type my name you will read the full story. ....but wait you should know considering I have called customer service, corporate office and my service department on Lansdowne st west peterborough, and the head person of my local store. Never have I been spoken too like I was nothing. I was a very loyal customer, but will be no longer. I will shop with local small businesses because apparently Canadian Tire no longer cares about making things right with their customers. My money and business is not important because I'm not important? Or is it because you can afford to loose me?

  3. #773
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #665:

    From https://www.facebook.com/shannon.sag...06717083233341

    Shannon L.S.:

    My rant about Canadian Tire Shop
    So I bought a Goodyear Alegra tire from Canadian Tire just over a year ago that was under a 5 year 100,000km warranty which I paid $149.99 plus installation etc. Sunday afternoon I was driving when POP the tire blew. I pulled off and my brother in law came to put the donut on. Of course everything was closed. Holiday Monday we called Canadian Tire and told them what happened & they said bring it in it's under warranty. They took the donut off and looked at the blown tire and said "yep" it's defective so it will cost you $139. What??? A defective tire that has nothing to do with being my fault is going to cost me? "Yes because it's worn a percentage"
    With only $60 cash had to go home to get more money. So they ACTUALLY put the donut back on and had to go home to get cash.
    With this not making sense at all I thought I'd call and talk to a supervisor about this Tuesday morning. I called and spoke to Mike. Oh Mike Mike Mike. Not a very nice or sympathetic man. I explained my concern to Mike. I had said "I'm lucky that it didn't blow on my many trips to my babys specialist in Toronto because it could have been deadly on the 401" well I must have said it a second time because Mike then proceeded to tell me that he didn't want to hear about that it could have been deadly on the highway again.... it didn't so stop! Very rudely too! So I told Mike that I would like to return the tire and I would go somewhere else. My friend Mike tells me "nope not gonna happen " so I quickly said ok thanks and hung up.
    After my lovely conversion with Mike I then called Canadian Tire head corporation, they stuck by their "tread use warranty "even when I tried to explain that the $97.50 isn't half of what I originally paid ($149.99) oh no you pay half of the original FULL price of $197., but say what???? The tire is on sale right now for even less of what I originally paid? Talking to Canadian Tire is worse then talking to some crazy telemarketer. CUSTOMER SERVICE they could really care less because they're a corporation and I'm just a small fish in a big ocean. I fully believe I was taken advantage of because I needed it fixed and nowhere else was opened. I would normally now go to LOVE'S TIRES. I have dealt with them before and I can't say enough good things. I guess I expect places to treat customers like they do. Where the customer is important. I must say that I vow NEVER to use Canadian Tire again.
    Btw am I wrong to think if a product is Defective that it should be FULLY replaced? This defect had nothing to do with my negligence. I would understand if I had ran over something but the inside of my driver side tire wall exploded on the seam, and even the paperwork from Canadian Tire states that it's defective. I even called GOODYEAR and explained everything to them and all they would say is that's up to Canadian Tire.
    Thank you for listening to my rant and feel free to share this post so others will know what to expect with the warranty from them


    I only went there because they originally said it wss covered due to it being defective. Lmao they will never get my business again. ....in the shop or in store


    I'm very disappointed with this company. If you type my name you will read the full story. ....but wait you should know considering I have called customer service, corporate office and my service department on Lansdowne st west peterborough, and the head person of my local store. Never have I been spoken too like I was nothing. I was a very loyal customer, but will be no longer. I will shop with local small businesses because apparently Canadian Tire no longer cares about making things right with their customers. My money and business is not important because I'm not important? Or is it because you can afford to loose me?
    Last edited by CTH8R; August 10th, 2015 at 05:56 AM.

  4. #774
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    From https://www.reddit.com/r/toronto/com...with_canadian/

    #666:

    TL;DR We paid $830 out of pocket for car repairs that Canadian Tire created in the first place and they won't foot the bill. Their mistakes also left us stranded on 4 different occasions needing a tow twice.

    This whole nightmare started at the Canadian Tire at Dufferin and Finch in Toronto, end of October 2014. One day in late October the car started leaking oil, a lot of oil and I knew I had to get to a garage quickly. While Canadian Tire would not be my first choice, they were by far the closest. Bring in the car, they inspect it and they tell me a gasket has gone bad and is leaking a lot of oil. The car is a Honda Civic with at that time around 185 000kms so a leaky gasket is not unexpected considering the mileage. They also recommended I do the timing belt and water pump as maintenance, and since I always have a hard time finding ideas for a Christmas gift I thought why not! They were offering a discount on labour also, no brainer I guess. This is where the nightmare starts.

    Turns out there was a plastic piece near the timing belt that was broken and needed to be replaced at the same time, which would add an extra day to the repairs as the part was not in stock. Fine. I get a call late the next day in the evening saying the car is ready to be picked. Shuttle comes to pick me up, I pay the bill (almost $1000 in repairs) and take possession of the car at 8:45pm (store closes at 9pm). Start the car and I notice the battery light is on. Now I'm not a mechanical wizard, but I know how to read a car manual and it clearly states in there that if the battery light is on, it means the battery is not being charged. Walked into the store to speak to the assistant manager I had been dealing with, told him about the light and what the car manual says and he told me that they drained the battery the previous night by accident when they left the key in the ignition overnight. He said they charged it up enough that the car would start and to simply go on the highway for 30mins and the alternator would charge the battery. I once again repeated that the manual said it means the battery is not being charged, he assured me that in this case it was normal, go on the highway it will be fine.

    Everyone with more car knowledge than me at this point are probably cringing by now. Did a quick stop at the grocery store and then set out to do a little loop Allen > 401 > DVP > 401 > Allen, charge the battery and go home. Get on the 401, dashboard lights up like a Christmas tree, lights flickering everywhere. Not good, I'm getting on the DVP at this point and decide to get off at the Sheppard off ramp so if anything happens I'm not stuck on the highway. Well too little too late. On the highway, at night, in traffic with no power. No lights, no engine, no turn signals, no hazards. Just brake and steering. Scariest moment of my life so far just trying to change lanes and get off the highway. I somehow manage to get the car on the Sheppard off ramp needing a new pair of underwear. Called a tow truck, dropped the car back at Canadian Tire and got home by 1am, very, very pissed off.

    Next day they take the car back in, turns out when an engine leaks, once they've fixed the issue they do an engine shampoo (clean the engine) so if it does leak again, you can tell if it's a new leak. Now at this point I'm only guessing because no one at Canadian Tire would tell me what happened exactly. From what I've read online, usually it's the new guy that takes care of simple jobs like this, the person power washed under the car and fried the alternator (the part that charges your battery when the engine is running). Again, it's a Honda (pretty reliable usually), alternator works when I take it to the shop, they wash the underside of the engine, alternator doesn't work when I get it back but hey I'm told parts fail all the time. They change the alternator (free of charge), I was naive enough to think I'd get a good OEM like alternator, but that is later in the story. They pay for the tow (like they have to by law I later learned) and I leave with the car, no apologies from Canadian Tire, with a sour taste in my mouth and a promise that I will not be returning here for car repairs.

    Fast forward to mid December, my gf texts me to let me know that the car's heater isn't working. Air is blowing from the vents, but it is cold air. A quick search online says the most likely culprit is the cooling system not working properly. I ask her if the temperature gauge on the dash reads hot and she says no. Eventually car stops, engine seizes (overheated) and it won't start. Tow #2 back to Canadian Tire. Problem with the water pump and it was leaking coolant, so the car had at that point almost no more coolant. Now after speaking with a mechanic, on this car, the temperature sensor is located high on the engine and the water pump is located a lot lower. Temperature sensors read faulty when they are not submerged in water and the mechanic even said they can read actually cold when not in water. Get a call from gf once at the store saying that the water pump has a problem and they wanted something like $500 to fix it. Got the employee on the phone, I was livid, told him to check for the car's history under my phone number (can't they search by car VIN instead? they would've actually charged my gf for a repair job they messed up otherwise) and he noticed it was their water pump they had installed a little over a month ago. Manager calls me back, says they will change the water pump free of charge. Again we pick up the car, no apologies from Canadian Tire and hope this nightmare will be over. I was told afterwards that engine seizing because of overheating can be incredibly bad for an engine and could affect the car's longevity, not too pleased, but wow Honda's are tough.

    Now my gf is a personal trainer and the day the car overheated she got stuck without transport, and had to cancel all her appointments and lost money. We aren't rich and I was mad because their first mistake cost me half a day and this new problem cost my gf her day also. Canadian Tire customer service was not very helpful, the guy I spoke to said he was an impartial party who decides if my complaint has merit. He said that alternators fail, water pumps fail, basically taking Canadian Tire's side every time (well hey they pay his salary, can't piss them off right?) and in the end was sent a $50 gift card for my troubles. Woohoo? Again no apologies. Their first mistake was negligence, could have been a lot worse then it ended up being, still can't wrap my head around it.

    Fast forward to the beginning of July, gf calls me again saying the car won't start. Go meet her, turn on the key and the dashboard looked exactly like it did the night the battery died on the highway. Figured battery was 6 years old at that point, had been drained twice because of Canadian Tire mistakes, maybe it is simply time for a new one. By luck there was a store nearby that sold car batteries, popped in, bought one and changed it. Yay car starts. We return the old one and even though I was wearing gloves I could still feel that the battery was hot, like boiling hot. But again I don't know enough about cars to know if it's normal or not, I'm just happy the car is starting.

    A week later, gf calls again, car died, it won't start and luckily she was stranded near her parents' place and there was a garage across the street. Mechanic fixed the car and this is what he told me. Alternator had a failed part and was providing the battery with 23.4V (a normal battery is 12V and when the car is running, somewhere around 13-14V), yes, the battery was receiving twice the voltage it is supposed to handle and could've exploded. Alternator was overloading the batteries (explains why the old one was burning hot to the touch) and basically killed both batteries. Mechanic also said that the alternator Canadian Tire put in was a bottom shelf refurbished unit where they don't replace the voltage regulator units to save cost, and has a 3yr warranty only. The one we put in instead is also a refurbished unit, but is a much better unit which has a lifetime warranty on it. He also mentioned that usually Canadian Tire will mention what they'll put in and I should have had the chance to upgrade to a better model. Total for the bill $830.

    I've contacted Canadian Tire and jumped through all of the hoops to see what they would do. All I want is for them to pay for the bill we had to pay because of a problem they created in the first place. I've given them plenty of chances to make this right and they won't do anything except reimburse what they would've done to fix our problem for a total of around ~$330 (which they have to do by law from what I understand). What I don't understand is why Canadian Tire won't simply apologize for their mistake, make it right and move on from this. The car was left stranded 4 times because of mistakes they made. The amount of frustration and lost time is staggering. They probably caused damage to the engine and the electrical system of the car. Heck, the battery could've exploded, twice. We got lucky there. All I'm asking is for them to pay the $830 bill and I don't want to deal with them ever again. And that's not even the whole bill, that's just the parts and labour to get the car back on the road.

    Now I don't know what else I can do except share my story. I feel like this is a David vs Goliath situation where they know they are big enough to simply ignore me and I don't agree with that. $500 is not pocket change for us. If anyone has any suggestion on what I could do, we would be extremely grateful. Thanks for your time and sorry for the wall of text.

    TL;DR We paid $830 out of pocket for car repairs that Canadian Tire created in the first place and they won't foot the bill. Their mistakes also left us stranded on 4 different occasions needing a tow twice.

    Edit: Posted on their Facebook, as suggested here, got a reply pretty quickly asking for a PM with a way to contact me, still waiting to hear back from them.

  5. #775
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #667:

    Ashley A.:


    My fiancÚ and I purchased emerald cedars from our local Canadian Tire this past April. We were looking for trees at a good price as we were purchasing a lot of them for a hedge. 4 of these trees have now started to die and when I went back to the store with my receipt, the tags and photos of the trees, the staff informed me that they could not do anything as they were clearance trees. I asked them to clarify as they had been purchased in April at the beginning of the season and I was told that because they were on sale they had no warranty and were clearance! I told the staff that no one had informed us of this when we purchased the trees and the man at the counter looked at me and said "well all our staff know this". I am extremely frustrated and disappointed in the complete lack of customer service. There was not even a willingness to give a store credit or exchange for new trees. I will be contacting head office and I think this is the final experience that has made the decision for us to never shop at Canadian Tire again.

  6. #776
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #668:

    Karen T.

    Currently at your Tecumseh road location in Windsor. Bought a fan yesterday and it was missing half the parts. I waited in line when I arrived to return it. Was told to go get another one and come back. I am now a) arguing with customer service because they want to just replace missing parts not a new fan and b) I have now been in line 10 minutes for the second time and I still have to go stand in line to pay for my other items. For a return on a product that was your fault, it has taken up 30 minutes of my time. Can you say cancel my options MasterCard because I'm never shopping here again?

  7. #777
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    If only there was a law against that ... oh, wait: there is!


    Justin S.:

    I purchased a pressure washer that didn't work for what it said on the box. Said will clean a vechile. Well the dried on mud still stuck to all the plastic on my truck says other wise. After trying to go to the store I purchased it from and being told no. Come back today when the general manager is in or call him. I tried calling. A 3 billion Doller a year company can't get there general managers voice mail? Are you kidding me? So I go back today and get a bunch of lip from him being talked down too and told it's my fault for purchasing it. I checked your web site, the products description on your wrb site and no where does it say pressure washers are final sale. All I want is my money back since it will not clean my truck, even though the box says it will clean my vechile. I pulled up front and he saw the mud still on the truck. I was able to wipe it off with my finger. But not this pressure washer. Once again told too bad. It's my fault. Horrible customer service and as far as I am concerned store 419 just stole my money selling me products that have false advertising on the box. All I want is my money back as you sold me a product that does not do what it is ment to and says it will.

  8. #778
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #669:

    Krista G.:


    Horrible!!!!

    "It's only 60$" says the Auto service guys.

    An then another 60$ to clean your engine that they don't tell you about.

    "Oh, just come back in 100km and we'll go over it with a light to check for leaks."

    Not mentioning that is also another 80$

    200$ in the end for a "it's only 60$" service..

    I'll never go back

  9. #779
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #670:

    Tina B.:

    Not Good service, I will not take another vehicle for repairs again. Not good business practice Paul.
    Last edited by CTH8R; August 11th, 2015 at 07:50 PM.

  10. #780
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #671:

    Robert G.: Canadian tire...pfft I have been a loyal customer of Canadian tire for many years. I worked in a CT service center until i was a witness to the level of customer deception that actually took place. I had to quit as i felt bad for how the customers in a already stressful situation, were being downright lied to for gain of the company. And until recently i would always use CT as my go to for whatever i needed. But..quality has taken a very steep nose dive and the last 5 products i bought either broke in one way or another or just didnt work to begin with. Sorry canadian tire, i cant support you anymore
    Last edited by CTH8R; August 11th, 2015 at 07:50 PM.

Page 78 of 116 First ... 2868767778798088 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Complaints on facebook - People Hate Crappy Tire!
    By CTH8R in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2055
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 12:23 PM
  2. What People Want to Achieve Here
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 25th, 2012, 12:00 PM
  3. Crappy Tire Boycott
    By MikeChablis in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2011, 11:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions