Page 99 of 116 First ... 4989979899100101109 ... Last
Results 981 to 990 of 1159

Thread: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

  1. #981
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #846:

    Colleen H.S.:

    My husband purchased a 2 gallon oil less compressor December 2013 which came with a 3 year warranty. This was used primarily for pumping up car/bicycle tires and was kept out of the elements. In September of this year, he noticed it wasn't functioning properly and returned it, along with the receipt to our local store in Belleville, ON for repair.
    He was advised this item couldn't be repaired and it was NLA, and a store credit was issued for $44.00. My husband ended up spending over $129.00 to replace the compressor with another one.
    Scanning through the flyer this morning and I see you have that same unit on sale for $49.00??!!!
    It saddens me to think that either your employees are ill trained in product availability, or this is the way the corporation makes it's money by forcing customers to invest more $$ to upgrade their original purchase.
    We have always been firm believers in supporting Canadian companies, but now we are beginning to think twice about investing our hard earned $$ in your corporation.....


    I'm not a fan of Crappy Tire. I'll just be more selective where I shop...lol

  2. #982
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #847:

    Susan D.B.M.:


    I was appalled and embarrassed while shopping at your Currents location today. I was with my son and as he was using the self check out. The check out stopped working and required an attendant. The attendant was being reprimanded by the manager of the store. It was not only embarrassing for me to watch, it must have been a terrible experience for her. As we stood there waiting for it to be over and to have our till working the manager continued to speak to her. I made eye contact with him multiple times. He then continued to reprimand her for "our wait". After we paid, I went to customer service and got the name of the manager and explained to the service desk that it was rude and inappropriate to give this type of discipline to a employee in front of customers. From what i could clearly hear, the employee had left her till light on as she moved on to another station. I went and showed the card with the managers name on it to him. I explained that it was rude of him to do that to his employee. He did not seem bothered by any of it. His name is Anil Persaud and #230 #260. I will be looking at other stores to shop at this holiday season. And i hope they treat the employees under them with some care and compassion that this manager is lacking.

  3. #983
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #848:


    Randy M.:

    We bought tires from Canadian tire, complete other road hazard warranty. Took a tire in for repair and were told it was not fixable. No problem be cue we have road hazard warranty, right? Not so. Apparently they don't make that tire in that size anymore. Save yourself some aggravation and buy your tires elsewhere.

  4. #984
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #849:

    Brian E.:

    Let me tell you about my wonderful Canadian Tire experience. In 2012 I bought a Mastercraft drill press on sale. I gave it general use but soon noticed it had some limitations including a looseness in the spindle, but I was willing to work around them. Over time I noticed the gear mechanism was getting louder and the spindle play was becoming worse. It finally got so bad that I contacted Mastercraft. I was told to take the drill to a repair depot in Calgary for warranty repair. I drove to the “repair depot” and found a multi-home building with no address on it. When I telephoned the depot number I got “a guy” who told me he wasn’t there, and to leave the drill in a truck located in the back yard. He would get to it when he got back. Wrong thing to tell a retired police officer in one of the highest crime neighbourhoods in Calgary. I left and drove to my nearest Canadian Tire Store. After a not so great conversation with a manager, he agreed to replace my drill with a newer model, if I paid the difference in price. I needed the drill so I paid.
    I set up the new one and it appeared not too bad, with the exception of the spindle wobble. It was tolerable however and I lived with it for four months. Then I tried using a Forstner bit to drill a hole in a bird house. As soon as the drill bit touched the wood the wobble became dangerous. A new bit was tried. No luck.
    Back to Canadian Tire. At this point I was fed up. I’d been through enough with these drills and wanted my money back. Unreasonable? Hard to say. How much should a customer take?
    After I told the manager my ordeal he flatly refused and said it had to go for repair. Oh boy. Here we go again.
    I ended up calling the Canadian Tire Customer Service line from the store. After a nice lady heard my story she put me on hold so she could resolve the issue. After a while on hold I was tossed back into a waiting cue. Unknown to me I was summarily and automatically transferred to… Mastercraft! They had no idea who I was talking to before, and for the third time that day I had to tell them my story of woe. Again, how much does a customer have to take. I was told once again that it had to go for repair.
    I then phoned the Canadian Tire Customer Service line again to talk to the original person. They had no idea who I was talking to originally (do so many people would there that they could they not have asked???). Apparently they don’t use their real names either. Guess what… I ended up telling the story a fourth time with the same result. There is more but those are the basics.
    So far I have wasted many hours of my valuable time, been sent to the other side of the city to a so called repair depot, been disconnected and transferred from one person to another, all for a drill press that still doesn’t work. I do not want to be a Canadian Tire customer that badly!
    I understand their repair policy, but after what they’ve put me through with a poor product, it could have been resolved easily by giving me the $125.00 or so of refund. I would have been a satisfied customer. I would tell people of my positive experience with Canadian Tire. As it is now, I will never shop there again (watch me) and I will go out of my way to tell other people what this company is like. I will lose them a lot more money than what that drill cost. I guarantee it.
    One interesting thing I learned and a warning to all of you: Although Canadian Tire supposedly warranties its products, they are MAUFACTURER warranties. So, if you buy something there and it breaks the next day, it goes for repair and according to the form I read, it could take up to two months to be returned. Isn’t that comforting? “We stand behind the products we sell”. That’s what they say, only it’s waaaay behind. If you want security and a real guarantee on products, don’t shop at Canadian Tire.

  5. #985
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #850:

    Diane S.:


    My friend went to Pincourt,QC store...bought a light for a furniture display case that in the past had lasted for 10 years...and the product YOU sold lasted all of 3 days!!! Then that day she had to go out of the country on an emergency trip when her brother was hospitalized...by the time she returned, the manager of the store, "Serge", openly laughed at her and mocked her...she had the receipt, she wasn't asking for a refund but for an exchange...he could have at least simply referred her to the manufacturer...but LAUGH??? MOCK??? That is something that would NEVER happen at Walmart, which is where I told her that she should be shopping, that American retailers care about their customers, they don't take them for granted. Your Pincourt store was absolutely bereft of customers, and only 1 cash...with a snarky cashier named Valerie...while Walmart in the same mall was bustling. That tells me what I need to know about the future of Canadian Tire...down the same road of mediocrity and irrelevance as Eaton's, Zellers, Target...I told her to write to Michael Medline. I highly doubt that he will be bothered to answer her. Funny that if one writes to the CEO of Kohl's or Macy's, they get an answer.

  6. #986
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #851: Anne G.:

    I am dealing with a lawnmower issue I bought it in May of this year and they had me take it to a repair shop it wasn't running after 2 times of using it I get a call the other day from the repair shop who says I used the wrong gas didn't know that there were different gases I used gas from a gas station he says I had to use e 10 which I later find out is not available in Canada but still waiting to find out about who is going to fix my mower and so far I have paid $40 to have the repair shop look at it will never buy anything from Canadian tire again

    Anne G.: that's what I am waiting on called 3 days ago someone called me yesterday and now I hear nothing called for the guy 3 times got a rude woman the first time got someone who said he cant transfer me the second time and finally got someone to transfer me but got voicemail and he has not returned my call
    Last edited by CTH8R; November 19th, 2015 at 08:34 PM.

  7. #987
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    Does he actually thinks it's an 'error', and not just a cash-grab?

    Andrew S.:

    Found this huge error at the Canadian tire Regina east (prince of Wales drive) store today and knowing what I paid in the spring for mine this price is double the actual regular price. Then I went onto the website and found the following picture which I will post in comments which is on par with the actual price, however the regular price at Walmart was $169. That's a huge discrepancy that would make any individual who doesn't pay attention to prices think they are getting a steal of a deal. Makes a person wonder what else they bought thinking they're getting an awesome buy that really wasn't much of a sale at all. This is a great stereo and the Bluetooth works awesome but the error I think is something people should be aware of on any sale



    Andrew Shepley's photo.

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=3&theater

    $349.00

  8. #988
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #852:

    Paula P.G.:

    I brought my vehicle in this morning to your location in Oshawa on Wilson. It was a first and a last frown emoticon The service was horrid from beginning to end. No phone call to tell me how much, what the problem was or when it would be ready. I had brought my vehicle in at 9:30am and had to call them at noon to find out what was going on. After being placed on hold for 15 mins, the guy told me we have to get the starter part and it should be ready in an hour and a half. When I gave them my keys this morning the cashier informed me they had the part in stock. I didn't hear anything by 2:30pm so I called back. The gent informed me that it would be ready in 30 mins. So I said, ok, I will head out now. I don't live in Oshawa. We got to the store at 3:45pm. And would you know it the vehicle wasn't ready. Was informed to come back in half an hour. I gave them an hour and it was ready when I got back. No one explained what the issue was and only informed me of the cost at checkout. My issue here is what kind of customer service is this? I will NEVER go back to this location. Extremely disappointed.

  9. #989
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    I'm pretty sure the Canadian Competition Bureau could dish out a fine for this:

    #583:

    Shawna E.:

    This says the MILLENNIUM FALCON is 17.49 and that the Commander Star Destroyer Is 29.99 however when I went to your store I was told that the Millennium Falcon is not 17.49. The picture clearly says on the box of the toy MILLENNIUM FALCON not Commander Star Destroyer. I bought this for more than advertised as I have a very excited little boy awaiting christmas as he asked " Santa" for this toy however I will no longer be shopping at your store. If it says the name on the box I should of paid 17.49 for it, False advertising.

  10. #990
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Join the Boycott - People Who Pledge to Never Go To Canadian Tire Again

    #854:


    Jeffrey B.: I would love to shop at canadian tire again but refuse to until they make it right for missing up my truck. 3 years and counting now. Rather loose a customer for 450.

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Complaints on facebook - People Hate Crappy Tire!
    By CTH8R in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2055
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 12:23 PM
  2. What People Want to Achieve Here
    By DavidLeR in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 25th, 2012, 12:00 PM
  3. Crappy Tire Boycott
    By MikeChablis in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2011, 11:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions