Page 7 of 16 First ... 56789 ... Last
Results 61 to 70 of 159

Thread: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

  1. #61
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Rolling T.R.: Ok so I see you still have the lights on sale I want but my store never gets stock.... great to have a sale but with no product.... its not really a sale ....

  2. #62
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Chris has been busy, on this issue. I hope Santa rewards him ... and gives Crappy all the lumps of coal they deserve!

    Chris P.: On 22nd, 2013, a Christmas Tree (Product # 151-1118-0) was supposed to go on sale for 50% off from $269.99 to $134.99. This offer is still currently in this week’s flyer, yet none of your stores in my area bothered to order any stock to be available for this sale. I know this because my wife and I went to a few of your stores in the St. John’s, Newfoundland area a day before the sale was to start to see how many would be in stock for the sale. To our surprise, we were told that none of the stores in the area had any. Also, the store that we were in didn't have any on order to be in in time for the sale.
    Please note that this is a violation of section 74.04 (Bait and Switch Selling Section) of the federal Competition Act: “Section 74.04 of the Competition Act is a civil provision. It prohibits "bait-and-switch" selling which occurs when a product is advertised at a bargain price, but is not available for sale in reasonable quantities.”
    There is no argument that the inventory was below a reasonable amount as the store had 0 to offer at the time of the sale.
    To make matter worse, I am unable to get a rain check for this item which is also in violation of the Competition Act.
    After speaking with a representative from your head office, she forwarded me to the fine print on page 43 of your flyer that states that availability may vary by store. The competition act also states that “…use of a general phrase, such as "quantities are limited," would not be an absolute defense under this section”.
    After doing some research online I have found that many other people are complaining about similar issues at Canadian Tire. After speaking with the Provincial Consumer Affairs Office with the Department of Service NL, I have confirmed that this practice is indeed illegal under federal and provincial law.
    I would like to know why Canadian Tire thinks they can take advantage of its customers with such blatant false advertising. There is no way my wife and I ever had any chance of availing of that sale but it was enticing enough to get us into your store where we proceeded to buy other merchandise.
    There is a reason why this type of behavior is illegal in Canada.
    As a frequent Canadian Tire customer, I feel cheated and taken advantage of.

  3. #63
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Cheryl G.P.: I also went to a CTC this evening for the Black Friday sale. I was there before 6 pm. An employee came by at 6 and said that the maagert told her he had stacked the item in an aisle and they must all be gone....all before the 6 pm sale even started. Mgr. could not come out and tell us anything, send the sacrifical lamb so to speak instead.....not many in stock for the sale apparently if they were stacked at the end of an aisle in the aisle....none to be seen in anyones carts either. So dissapointed. Never enough stock when CTC has one of these "great" sales....

  4. #64
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Jane K.R.: Why does the store have policies set up so people can do these things in the first place!!! If you put something on sale don't put on "special Times" and just issue rain checks for the people who missed out.
    I, for one, have decided not to shop at Canadian Tire again until I get a rain check on the pans I went to buy and they wouldn't let me because it was before 6pm.

  5. #65
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Joanne S.: I went into get one of their great Black Friday specials and behold they were sold out. Ok no problem not surprised but I noticed they did have the product I wanted on the counter at the return desk so inquired was told yes it had been returned but it wasn't processed yet so she couldn't sell it to me! Ya right cause she wanted it for herself! Great customer service! NOT!!

  6. #66
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Anton J.: FALSE ADVERTISING! Seriously I have been now three times to CT for an "Upcoming Deal" that I received an advanced notice for since I'm a "exclusive member"....this is the article that I'm talking about http://www.canadiantire.ca/.../folding-dolly-and-hand... Every time I go to one of the CT stores I get the same lame answer "It's on back order, the product is apparently still in China at the manufacturer...WHY NOT JUST TAKING IT OUT OF THE SHOP THEN....Their only interest is to lure you in their store so you buy some other crap that you don't need. DISAPPOINTED!!

  7. #67
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Is there an echo in here? LOL!



    Amanda L.: Went to Canadian tire on Thursday. I wanted to catch some of the sales they had in the black Fri. flyer. Turns out every store in the area had no stock of anything in the flyer. They only got 1 item of almost everything that they were advertising. Unimpressed!

  8. #68
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    ... in here .... in here .... here ....


    Chad G.: Thing that are in the flying are falsely advertised. I won't be going back any time soon. False advertising should not be allowed.

  9. #69
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Edel B.: Just came back from Dalhouise Canadian tire and had the worst service ever. They have a diagnostic tool on sale in the flyer. Sale starts today. Went to the automotive dept and waitied 20 mintues for someone to help us only to find out they never had them on the shelf. He said the computer says they have 5 in the store but they couldn't find them and he said they were probably in a tote box in the back.They haven't had time to unpack the stock. We asked him for a raincheck and he said he couldn't do it as it was on sale. he said if we left our name and number they would call us. Done that before and no calls. We told him we would go to the front customer service desk and see what we could do because this has happened before to us and we cannot keep running up to the store to see if they have unpacked the stock. When we got to the customer service counter we ended up getting a hardware manager. He said he would check and just went to the automotive dept and they told him they couldn't find the diagnostic tool. All we wanted was the a rain check so when they did find it we could come back and purchase it. He came back and said what he could to for us was we paid for it tonight and then he would give us a raincheck, Hmm !! pay 159.99 plus tax and he would give us a raincheck. Don't think so. I asked if there was another manager I could talk to and he pointed over to the customer service desk to lady and then ran off. I finally got the lady's attention and I asked her if she was the store manager and she said she was the sports manager.She said she would call the automotive dept to see what she could do, hmm !! been there done that !! She wanted me to leave my name and number and I told her I would file a complaint on line. Really you advertise something and don't have it and all we wanted was a raincheck so when they did find the item we could purchase it. Wasted a entire hour at that store.

    Edel B.: Yup figured I would get a reply like this. already sent it ! Probably nothing will get done but wanted to make sure I could let everyone know what terrible service we received at Canadian Tire


    Edel B.: We will see !! You have more faith then I do. Went through this once before with ashely furmiture for 4 months and we ended up losing 1000.00 dollars when we returned the furniture that was damaged when the delivered it. they charge us 25 % to give it back to them. With Canadian Tire we never ended up buying anything because I will not pay for it until I see it.

  10. #70
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Ming L.: If Canadian Tire wish to advertise a correct item for sale that would be great but do not try to tell me that the item for sale is the same as the one advertised in the flyer. reference is the Plano ammo box (size 9 1/2 x 4 1/4 x 6) and Canadian Tire trying to pass off the shot shell ammo box as the one identical to the flyer. I find this very misleading and that the sale staff is telling me that the one advertised is the identical to the shot shell ammo box. It is extremely RUDE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Page 7 of 16 First ... 56789 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Sucks at Tires - Stock, Sales, Installation, Service, Warranties, Online, Etc.
    By CT Challenger in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 313
    Last Post: July 14th, 2015, 08:47 PM
  2. Canadian Tire Sucks at Tire - Sales, Installation, Service, Warranties, etc.
    By CT Challenger in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 6th, 2012, 12:10 PM
  3. Bought a Black & Decker Large Skillet back in November 2011!! (PG)
    By sherwind2007 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 20th, 2012, 10:47 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 6th, 2012, 06:36 AM
  5. Bad Customer Service at MAVIS & BRITANNIA ( Mississauga ) Hardware section
    By cagex in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 11th, 2011, 06:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions