Page 1 of 16 12311 ... Last
Results 1 to 10 of 159

Thread: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

  1. #1
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    A common complaint across the country is that Canadian Tire stores advertise items at attractive sale prices, but those stores don't carry sufficient stock. People come for the sale items, but the can't get any.

    They might be tempted to just buy a similar item at a higher price. And while they are in the store, they might buy other items, too, increasing the CT store's profits without the store having to honour the sale price.

    In some cases, the sale item might be a 'loss leader', where the store loses money on the sale item, but hopes to make up for it by selling you other stuff with a higher margin. If they don't have any loss-leader items to sell you, then the store gets all the profit, without having to sell things at a loss.

    This sounds a lot like "Bait and Switch", which is illegal in Canada, but somehow Canadian Tire seems to be pulling stunts like this, week after week!

    The other common complaint is that people can spend a lot of time and gas getting to & from the store, but don't come away with the bargains they'd been promised. Maybe not illegal, but certainly annoying and possibly expensive for people who fall for these Crappy Tire Tricks.
    Last edited by CTH8R; February 2nd, 2013 at 06:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Here's an example, from CT's own Facebook page:


    Joanne Case Can. Tire annoys me no end. Every time I go to my local store for an advertised special, on the morning of sale, they have none in stock, didnt come in, or are sold out. How can this be in two hours. Think I would rather shop at Rona or Home Depot. Might pay a little more but at least I can get what I want.

  3. #3

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    i believe you can ask for a rain check....or was that wal-mart?

  4. #4
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    A post on this topic, from this thread: One again CTC Napanee doesn't carry items on sale.



    In this weeks flyer an LED work light on sale for $14.95 is not available and not carried by the CTC store in Napanee. Once again they just shrug their shoulders and don't care.

  5. #5
    Probationary Member OneTrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Winter Flyer (Sale starts Feb 8th) advertised a Gerber knife on sale @ 50% off. Went to CT store on #3 Road in Richmond, BC at opening time on Feb 8th. None in inventory. "Associate" suggests another brand of knife, I decline. He then tells me stock of the Gerber knife will arrive on Feb 25th and I could get a raincheck. Went to Cust. Service and horrible lady refuses to give me a raincheck, saying that it was a "discontinued item". What? If this wasn't blatant bait and switch, then I don't know what is.

  6. #6

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Recently mikie had this to say, over in the thread: One again CTC Napanee doesn't carry items on sale.

    In this weeks flyer an LED work light on sale for $14.95 is not available and not carried by the CTC store in Napanee. Once again they just shrug their shoulders and don't care.

  7. #7

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Another example from CT's fb page:



    Andrew Gee Hi Canadian Tire. I have a customer complaint. I was just at your one of your stores in Kitchener (on Ottawa st.) today. I was trying purchase the SunRype 100% Juice that was advertised on your flyer for 4 for $5. I was at the store and i asked the stock person that was there in that aisle if there was any and was none, which was fine. So I went to customer service desk and asked them for a raincheck. So the customer service called up on the computer that product and found out that there was 60 cartons of them in stock. I told the customer service that there was none in stock. They called up the stock room person and found out there was some and told me to go back to the aisle to meet the person there I waited more than 20 mins and no one showed up. So I went back to the customer service and asked them for a raincheck again. and they told me that they will not issue a raincheck if there computer system says if there is some in stock. and they told me to wait some more for the stock stock person to come and give it to me.so i waited for another 10 mins for only the person not to show up again. So I told the customer service that i will come back another day to get it, (Which I will not)

    1. So why is your customer product service is so crappy that you guys have to make your customers wait more than 30mins to only find out that your staff is not going to show up.

    2. Why is your computer system show the quantity of the product inaccurately? (it showed 60 cartons of juice, when there isn't any)

  8. #8
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    'Nother:


    Aaron Stone Just had the most disappointing experience at Canadian Tire. Got an ad that had this item on sale. Great deal! I called around, possibly anticipating some issues getting it in, but I'd get a raincheck and no worries. I can wait. Not so much. Even though there is NO indication that the item has been discontinued, and no alternatives that are even CLOSE to the product in price or quality are being offered, the store manager says we can't get the product. "I can give you a raincheck, but I probably can't get it in". "Might be some in the warehouse, but I can't find out for 24 hours". What?!!! How is this good for Canadian Tire? What terrrible service and misleading advertising. BOOO Canadian Tire! Lifetime Shatterguard Backboard with Powerlift Pole, 52-in | Canadian Tire

  9. #9
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    Response on the CT Facebook page re: St. Patrick's day and the clover photo:

    Sandy Campbell It should be 4 leaf clover ah well with Canadian tire something is always missing. Just like when something is on sale. Hehehe!

  10. #10
    Senior Member CTH8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Canadian Tire Sucks at Sales - Not Enough Stock - Bait & Switch?

    More on CT's FB page:

    D.w. Marchwell Not impressed at all with this most recent flyer. The Kingsway Edmonton store did not have any of the items I went to buy. I don't bother with scratch and save any more and I've learned not to expect anything from the bored 20-somethings that seem more interested in chatting than helping someone who actually went out of his way to spend money. I guess they'll learn their lesson when enough people stop shopping there and they get laid off.

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. Canadian Tire Sucks at Tires - Stock, Sales, Installation, Service, Warranties, Online, Etc.
    By CT Challenger in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 313
    Last Post: July 14th, 2015, 07:47 PM
  2. Canadian Tire Sucks at Tire - Sales, Installation, Service, Warranties, etc.
    By CT Challenger in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 6th, 2012, 11:10 AM
  3. Bought a Black & Decker Large Skillet back in November 2011!! (PG)
    By sherwind2007 in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 20th, 2012, 09:47 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 6th, 2012, 06:36 AM
  5. Bad Customer Service at MAVIS & BRITANNIA ( Mississauga ) Hardware section
    By cagex in forum General Canadian Tire Complaints / Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 11th, 2011, 06:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions